University Community | News and Announcements

Ohio University Eastern honors graduating class

Ohio University Eastern honored graduates at a Graduation Recognition Ceremony Thursday, May 4, 2023, in St. Clairsville, Ohio.

OHIO Eastern Dean of Campus and Community Relations David Rohall welcomed graduates, their family members, alumni, faculty, staff, and honorees. He also noted special guests, including Ashley Doren, Harrison Central High School counselor and OHIO Eastern coordinating council representative.

“I am excited to be here for several reasons. We have quite an honored group of people here with us today, including our 2023 Austin C. Furbee award honoree and keynote speaker, Mr. Jason Wilson, who is being recognized for his dedication and contribution to Ohio University and the community," Rohall said. “This is also a special year for us because we are graduating our first bachelor of science in nursing class on this campus!”

Student speaker Brianna Leach of Barnesville, Ohio, addressed the audience by revealing aspects of her personal journey that led her to discover her passion for education.

“My undergraduate journey did not go as I envisioned, life took its twists and turns and took me in directions I had not prepared for," Leach shared. “I started my educational journey at two different colleges before I enrolled here at Ohio University Eastern where I learned that I did not just want a job, but I wanted to live my life with passion to make a positive difference in my community. Ohio University was the perfect fit for me as I believe it represents and fosters those very same ideas: education, passion, and community."

Leach graduated summa cum laude in December 2022, earning a bachelor’s degree in Middle Childhood Education. After attending Ohio University Eastern, she accepted a teaching position in the Union Local School District.

Former Ohio State Senator, Jason Wilson delivered the keynote address. Wilson spoke directly to the graduating class acknowledging the dedication and perseverance they exhibit during their academic journey.

“I join the people who are here today to congratulate you for all your hard work,” he said. “Your diploma, cap and gown are symbols that you have succeeded.”

Tracy A. Pritchard, professor of Social Work Instruction was also recognized by Dean Rohall as the recipient of the Regional Campus Outstanding Professor Award. This award honors faculty at regional campuses who have demonstrated excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service over the last three years.

In addition, Drew Strauss, Valerie Peterson, Gracie Hayes, Marta Bos, Kirsten Rouse, Jenna Cunningham, and Lauren Roe received the Outstanding Student Award in their field of study. These prestigious awards recognize students who have contributed holistically to not just their academic program, but also to the Eastern campus and surrounding community. These students maintain a high GPA, participate in various on-campus activities, and serve as role models for their fellow students.

James Casebolt, associate professor of Psychology, presented the graduation candidates.

Graduates included: 

  • Associate Degrees: Grace Eller, Paige Foltin, Megan Kelley, Daniel Millhouse, Lauren Neer, Matthew Smith, and Cheyenne Wilson
  • Bachelor Degrees: Hannah Anderson, Cindy Arnold, Annaliese Ayres, Nathan Bolyard, Jenna Bowers, Katherine Buck, De’Asia Burney, Hunter Carpenter, Halee Corbett, Lacey Cordery, Jenna Cunningham, Tenice Decker, Laine Fankhauser, Taylor Ferguson, Cayla Fett, Paige Foltin, Halle Gehrig, Heaven Hadley, Mollie Hamilton, Dulcie Hanson, Gracie Hayes, Marta Hernandez Bos, Jarrod Heskett, Alana Hogue, Trey Isaly, Victoria Jenkins, Jordan Kazmirski, Megan Kelley, Logan Knowlton, Helen Koucoumaris, Richard Kramer, Alex Krupa, Brianna Leach, Harlie Louden, Karleigh McCardle, Daniel Millhouse, Lauren Neer, Duncan Pagano, Valarie Peterson-Cooper, Antonio Pizzuti, William Price, Lauren Roe, Kirsten Rouse, Ellie Sampson, Nickolas Schramm, Angela Sommer, Drew Strauss, Lexie Swiger, Elissa Thompson, Emma Turner, Kayley Violet, Alexis Watson, Cheyenne Wilson, Joshua Wilson, and Maria Vincenzo.
  • Master Degree: Lane Bedford
May 16, 2023
Staff reports