Alumni and Friends | University Community

Margaret Boyd Scholars Program seeks faculty and alumna nominations

The Faculty Advisory Board of the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program (MBSP) exists to support past, current and future scholars as the program evolves to meet the needs of its students. 

Currently, the board is comprised of current Ohio University faculty and staff. This year, for the first time, the MBSP board is seeking an alumna representative to join. This individual does not need to be currently affiliated with OHIO but needs to have been involved with MBSP as a student.

Named in honor of Margaret Boyd, Ohio University's first female graduate of the class of 1873, MBSP seeks to inspire and encourage undergraduate women to become engaged, confident and connected leaders at Ohio University and beyond. Women are selected as Boyd Scholars in fall semester of their first year. The four-year program includes a first-year seminar, a second-year residential component, a third-year internship experience and a fourth-year capstone seminar.

All are invited to nominate a faculty or staff member who has demonstrated the following: commitment to supporting and empowering undergraduate women and commitment to understanding the diversity of women's experiences, including intersections of race/ethnicity, nationality, sexuality, disability and socioeconomic class. 

Board members attend monthly board meetings and an annual retreat with new scholars, and also participate in teaching, mentorship and other programs. 

The new alumna representative will have graduated from the program. In this role, she will mentor scholars, participate in programs and assist with alumnae outreach and events.

To nominate faculty or staff members to the board, complete this short form Self-nominations are accepted. 

To nominate alumnae representatives to the board, complete this short form Self-nominations are accepted. 

Nominated individuals will be asked to submit a short personal interest statement to continue on in the process. Nomination forms are due by April 1, 2021.

March 23, 2021
Staff reports