Ohio University

Cutler Scholars program honors mentors

Published: May 27, 2020 Author: Maggi Karagosian

Usually each spring finds the graduating Cutler Scholars gathered for a meal to recognize mentors who positively impacted their college experience. This year the Cutler Scholars Program virtually honored 15 faculty and friends for their mentorship to the graduating scholars.

“While the stay-at-home order prevented us from having good food together, our students couldn’t wait to recognize those who go above and beyond in making their experience as Cutler Scholars special,” said Kristine Hoke, interim director of operations and scholar experience.

In their nomination letters, each scholar was asked to share their experience with their respective mentor. Nearly all reflections provided by the recent graduates mention outstanding academic guidance, but also support beyond the walls of Ohio University.

“I've had the pleasure of having Andy Alexander as a teacher for three courses in which his professional expertise taught me so much,” said Abbey Marshall, Wood Cutler Scholar ‘20. “Outside the classroom, he has been a tremendous mentor and has always been in my corner. I am happy to know him as both a journalist and mentor, but also as a great person.”

For others, mentors served as a guiding light in discovering what career path was best for them. Aidan Crowl, Robe Cutler Scholar ’20, shared how Professor Doug Lawrence broadened his horizons and influenced his future plans.

“Dr. Lawrence has been my academic adviser for two years and he’s now also the adviser for my senior design project and I really enjoy him as a person,” Crowl said. “He is one of the best instructors I've encountered [in the] program. We've had conversations about nonlinear engineering career paths that have given me a better perspective on how I might approach the next several years of my life.”

The Cutler Scholars have also been honored by their mentors. Dr. Stephen Scanlan explained the wonderful experiences that he shared with Dominic Detwiler, Konneker College of Fine Arts Cutler Scholar ’20.

“As a mentor I cannot imagine anyone easier or more enjoyable to work with than Dominic,” Scanlan said. “He is a model student who is well reasoned, well read, and very enthusiastic about his academic work and its potential for contributing to positive social change. He brings much passion to his work and is actively engaged in issues beyond his studies, which meant he was always interesting and engaging.”

Furthermore, Dr. Julia Paxton explained how Michaela Trawick, Pattison Cutler Scholar ’20, excelled academically and beyond. Paxton added that during her time at OHIO, Michaela served as a student senator and a residence hall advisor. She also volunteered her time with marginalized youth in Athens County, and she volunteered to help the Economics department with undergraduate recruitment.

“In life, there are people who take more than they give and others who give more than they take,” Paxton said. “I have been fortunate enough to have worked with a number of Cutler Scholars over the years and I have found that they have been incredibly generous with their time and talents to improve their communities. Michaela Trawick embodies this spirit.”

Paxton also commented on the success of all Cutler Scholars and said they will have an impact after they leave Athens.

“There is no doubt that the Cutler Scholars will take their considerable abilities and selflessness into the world to make it a better place for all,” she said.

The Cutler Scholars Program’s Outstanding Mentors for 2020 are:

  • Andy Alexander, Scripps Howard Visiting Professional
  • Doug Lawrence, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Shea Burden, Assistant Professor of Instruction in Accountancy
  • Michael Burton, Associate Professor of Political Science
  • Stephen Scanlan, Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Parul Jain, Associate Professor in E.W. Scripps College of Communication
  • Julie Elman, Professor and Undergraduate Director, School of Visual Communication
  • Jordan Wagner, Graduate Teaching Associate in Communication Studies
  • Stephanie Miller, Assistant Professor of Instruction in Microbiology and STEMstart Co-Director
  • Monica Burdick, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Dave Wanczyk, Editor of the New Ohio Review and Coordinator for Special Programs
  • Julia Paxton, Professor and Undergraduate Chair, Economics
  • Jacob Hiler, Assistant Professor of Marketing and Director of Consumer Research Center
  • Felipe Aros-Vera, Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Bernhard Debatin, Professor and Director of the Institute for Applied and Professional Ethics, Honors Tutorial College Journalism Director of Studies