Wednesday, Nov 21, 2018

Overcast, 39 °F

Dr. Chaden Djalali

Dr. Chaden Djalali

Photo courtesy of: University Communications and Marketing

Featured Stories

Provost Chaden Djalali announces search committee for Ohio University’s Dean of the Russ College

Executive Vice President and Provost Dr. Chaden Djalali has announced that the search for Ohio University’s next dean of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology will commence on Oct. 29. 

The University has retained executive search firm Storbeck/Pimentel and Associates to facilitate a national search. Representatives of the firm will be on campus Oct. 29 and Oct. 30 to learn more about the Russ College, and to create a college profile and position description for the next dean. The firm will meet with college leadership, faculty, staff, students, campus partners, friends of the Russ College and the search committee. 

The committee was formed through consultations with President Dr. M. Duane Nellis, Dean Dr. Dennis Irwin, Faculty Senate, Administrative Senate, Classified Senate, Student Senate and Graduate Student Senate. Interim Chair of Aviation and Associate Dean of Academics, Dr. Deborah McAvoy; and Dr. Zaki Kuruppalil, associate professor of engineering technology and management, have agreed to serve as co-chairs. 

In a recent communication with faculty and staff of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology, EVPP Djalali said it is important the University hears a “broad range of perspectives about the strengths and opportunities of the college, its strategic direction going forward, and expectations for the knowledge and attributes of the next dean.”

To that end, EVPP Djalali has asked the search firm to hold two open forum sessions for faculty and staff: from 4 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 29; and from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 30. Both of these meetings will be held in the dean’s conference room in Stocker Center. 

“Please take the opportunity to attend either of these sessions and share information and ideas with the search firm,” said EVPP Djalali in a recent correspondence with Russ College faculty and staff. “If you are unable to attend a session, you are welcome to direct input to the search co-chairs who will share the information with the search firm.” 

A position description will be finalized by mid-November, and the University will work with Sorbeck/Pimentel to begin actively recruiting qualified applications through January 2019. 

Early next semester, the search committee will assist EVPP Djalali with selecting a final pool of candidates to bring to campus for interviews, which will include open forums for faculty, staff and students. 

“We are targeting early March 2019 for on-campus interviews,” EVPP Djalili added. “I look forward to working with you as we embark on the process of finding your next dean.” 

Members of the search committee include: 

· Deborah McAvoy, Associate Dean of Academics; Interim Chair of Aviation

· Zaki Kuruppalil, Associate Professor, Engineering Technology & Management

· David Juedes, Chair, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

· Jason Trembly, Professor, Mechanical Engineering

· Valerie Young, Chair, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

· Gregory Kremer, Chair, Mechanical Engineering

· Avinash Karanth, Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

· Diana Schwerha, Associate Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering

· Damilola Daramola, Assistant Director for Technical Business Development, CEER

· Becky Andrews, Administrative Specialist, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

· Joseph Shields, Interim Dean – College of Arts and Sciences

· Scott Miller, Associate Dean for Industry Partnerships

· Sanam Azadiamin, graduate student in Industrial and Systems Engineering

· Owen Aliu, undergraduate student in Chemical Engineering

· Mark Arnold, Russ College Alumnus; Russ College Board of Visitors

· Deborah Burke, Russ College Alumna; Russ College Board of Visitors

· Major Alston, Senior Associate Vice President of Development