Friday, Aug 23, 2019

Mostly Cloudy, 72 °F


Featured Stories

Membership of Ridges Advisory Committee announced

Ohio University has released the membership roster of the Ridges Advisory Committee. The committee’s composition is prescribed in Ohio House Bill 59.

The committee is tasked with periodically reviewing the comprehensive land use plans for The Ridges and the University’s progress toward its implementation. The committee reports its recommendations to Ohio University’s president. The Advisory Committee is composed of members representing Ohio University, the City of Athens and Athens County.

The new members are:

  • Deborah Shaffer, Ohio University Vice President of Finance and Administration, chair (Ohio University President designee)
  • Andy Stone, Athens Director of Public Works and City Engineer (City of Athens Mayor designee)
  • Lenny Eliason, Athens County Commissioner
  • Christine Knisely, Athens City Council President
  • Pam Callahan, community member
  • Tom O’Grady, Southeast Ohio History Center Executive Director

The previous committee, which served from 2013 to 2017, worked to develop the current Ridges Framework Plan, which evaluates the potential future revitalization, development and use of the Ridges. The new committee will build on this past work.

The Ridges Master Plan was originally drafted in 1989. The Ridges Framework Plan, the most recent iteration, was recommended by the previous advisory committee and approved by the Ohio University Board of Trustees in 2015. The Framework plan provides guidelines for the use of the land and buildings.