Debi Tallman

Featured Stories

Great job!

Meet April Classified Employee of the Month Debi Tallman

Each month, Classified Senate selects a non-bargaining Classified Employee of the Month. The award was created to recognize someone who is setting high standards for excellence and innovation. This monthly Compass Q&A titled "Great Job," provides a glimpse into the honoree's life on and off campus.

How surprised were you to win the April Employee of the Month award?

I was totally surprised and shocked to get this award. When the committee came in the office, I thought they were here for a meeting with the director.

What is your job title and how long have you worked it?

My job title is administrative associate. I have worked in the School of Art for 15 years.

How long have you worked at Ohio University overall?

I've worked for 15 years.

What are the best things about your job?

As well as working with a great group of faculty and students, I get to travel to NYC each year with the painting faculty and students to visit museums and galleries.

What is your hometown and where do you live now?

My hometown is Parkersburg, W.Va. I now live in Little Hocking, Ohio.

What significance does working at Ohio University have for you?

I has enabled me to take advantage of the educational opportunities.

What are your long-term goals?

To retire from Ohio University and spend more time with family and travel.

What was the last good book you read?

I enjoy mysteries. I am now reading Lee Child's "Jack Reacher" series.

If you weren't in your present job, you would probably be working as a ______.

I would be an interior designer. I have enjoyed looking through magazines and on the Internet getting ideas for the house we are now remodeling.

What things in life are the most important to you?

Faith, family, friends and good health are most important.

What are your next vacation plans?

No vacation this year for me. We just moved this spring to a farm, so there are many projects yet to finish.

What do you do in your spare time?

I enjoy reading, gardening, trail riding on horseback and spending time with my two grandchildren.

What is something that most people don't know about you?

I used to race walk. I entered many races and actually came in first in a few.

What are your favorite TV shows?

HGTV and Food Network shows are my favorites.

What type of music do you listen to?

Depends on my mood but mostly country.

What is your favorite saying or quote?

"Blessed are those who can give without remembering and take without forgetting."