Welcome to the Department of History

Our superb department has produced professors, lawyers, diplomats and civil servants, successful businesspeople, school teachers, military officers, fiction writers, and other professionals engaged in a myriad of pursuits in their lives and around the globe. Winners of awards in teaching and scholarship, our faculty members bring proven records of excellence to their daily collaborations with undergraduate and graduate students, and together they explore interests that span space and time. Students learn to read, think, and write critically. They come to know that ours is a small world and a big world. They grasp that humanity has the capacity to create the magisterial works hanging in the Louvre as well as the horrors of Auschwitz, or the inspiring wonder of Angkor Wat as well as the Killing Fields of Cambodia. Studying history propels our lives, whether for the purposes of entering an important and satisfying profession or for the more expansive incentive of revealing the human condition. That is our department’s job. Such is our responsibility.

Department of History
4th Floor, Bentley Annex
Athens, OH 45701-2979
Phone: (740) 593-4334
Fax: (740) 593-0259
E-mail: History.Department@ohiou.edu



Eighth Annual Undergraduate Conference: The Department of History will host this year's Undergraduate History Conference on Wednesday, April 16, and Thursday, April 17. The conference launches at 5:30 p.m., on April 16 with a reception and undergraduate awards ceremony in the Lindley Room of the Ohio University Inn. Assistant Professor Jessica Choppin Roney will deliver the plenary address, entitled "Setting Up for Themselves: Voluntarism, Democracy and Citizenship in Revolutionary America." Student paper sessions will run from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on April 17 in Room 402 Bentley Annex. Events are free and open to the public.

Faculty Member Wins Advising Award: Associate Professor Miriam Shadis recently received the Chapman Clapp Outstanding Advisor Award from the University College and the University Academic Advising Council in recognition of her work with the Margaret Boyd Scholars program. Congratulations Professor Shadis!

Faculty Member Wins Appointment as Ping Fellow: Assistant Professor Assan Sarr was recently named an Untenured Fellow in the Charles J. Ping Institute for the Teaching of the Humanities. Professor Sarr will begin his three-year term as a Ping Fellow in Fall 2014. Congratulations to Professor Sarr on this recognition of his teaching excellence and his commitment to humanities education at Ohio University.

Faculty Member Wins Fulbright Award: Associate Professor of History Brian Schoen has won a Fulbright Award to serve during the 2014-2015 academic year as the Mary Ball Washington Professor of American History at University College Dublin. Previous recipients of this honor include the late Senator George McGovern, former History Department Professor Joan Hoff, and History Department Ph.D. (1998) V. Scott Kaufman. Congratulations Professor Schoen!

Grad Students Win Student Enhancement Awards: Ohio University has awarded History Department Ph.D. students Brad Eidahl and Seth Givens each a $6,000 Student Enhancement Award to assist dissertation research. Eidahl is writing his dissertation, "Writing the Resistance: The Rise and Fall of APSI and Chile's Opposition Press," under the direction of Associate Professor Patrick Barr-Melej, and Givens is writing his dissertation, "Cold War Capital: The United States and the Fight for Berlin, 1945-1994," under the direction of Associate Professor Ingo Trauschweizer.

Grad Student Publishes Article: Seth Givens, a Ph.D. candidate in the History Department, has published “Liberating the Germans: The US Army and Looting in Germany during the Second World War,” in War in History, v. 21, n. 1, January 2014, pp. 33-54. War in History is a leading peer-review journal in its field. To complete the article, Seth conducted oral history interviews as well as carried out extensive primary research in multiple archives. Seth’s research was supported in part by funding from the Cantigny First Division Foundation, based in Chicago. Seth is a specialist in US military history, and is completing his dissertation under the supervision of Dr. Ingo Trauschweizer, Associate Professor of History. His dissertation examines the US presence in Berlin during the Cold War.

Emeritus Publishes Book: John Reiger, Professor of History Emeritus, Chillicothe Campus, recently published his fourth book, an autobiography entitled Escaping into Nature: The Making of a Sportsman-Conservationist and Environmental Historian (Oregon State University Press). Congratulations to Professor Reiger on both the publication of your latest book and on your recent retirement!


Connect with us on Facebook