Communication Home

Heritage College announces student award winners at pre-commencement event

(ATHENS, Ohio – May 16, 2014) Executive Dean Kenneth H. Johnson, D.O., opened a special awards ceremony for the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine by observing that the 2014 graduating class is leaving the college “at a time of incredible transformation.”

This transformation, he noted, includes the pending arrival of the first entering classes at two new Heritage College campuses, in Dublin this July and in Cleveland in July 2015.

Though the May 9 awards event focused on honoring outstanding members of the Class of 2014, who graduated the following day, Johnson also recognized Vice Dean Wayne R. Carlsen, D.O., with the coveted Trillium award, for his 20 years of service to the college.

With upwards of 300 people in attendance at the awards ceremony in Ohio University’s Baker Center Ballroom, Heritage College officials and faculty recognized a number of outstanding students from the 2014 graduating class:

Osteopathic Heritage Award: Therese Obioha

Dean’s Award: Nicholas Houska

Family medicine associates: Sarah Coffey, Melissa Parks and Brian Sammon

Osteopathic manipulative medicine associates: Therese Obioha, Amy Vagedes and Sarah Watson

Primary care scholarship recipients: Matthew Adkins, Sarah Coffey, Brian Colopy, Yazid Hussein, Matthew Johnston, Kimbra Joyce, Jamie Laturell, Meredith Merkley, Sara Pauquette, Kimberly Peacock, Regina Pestak, Brian Sammon, Amy Simpson, Megan Sopko and Kevin Swiatek

Best case-based paper: Brandon Kohrs

Outstanding research award: Joshua Kuroiwa

Biomedical science award: Michelle Crane

Family practice award: Brian Sammon

Global health award: Emilie Prot and Amy Vagedes

Social medicine award: Matthew Adkins

Obstetrics and gynecology award: Melissa Parks

Specialty medicine award: Kristen Holler

Ohio Department of Aging – Geriatric medicine and gerontology award: Jessica Aguilar

Pediatrics award: Jessica Aguilar

Osteopathic manipulative medicine award: Sarah Watson

The Donna Jones Moritsugu Award, sponsored by the American Osteopathic Foundation, and recognizing a spouse who has provided immeasurable support to a graduating osteopathic medical student: Nicole Kuroiwa, wife of Joshua Kuroiwa

The Centers for Osteopathic Research and Education (CORE), a statewide medical education consortium, also presented awards to students for “performance of the highest distinction” at CORE hospitals. The winners were:

  • Affinity Medical Center in Massillon: Carly Dent
  • Cleveland Clinic South Pointe Hospital in Warrensville Heights: Tanya Richvalsky and Nicholas Houska
  • Firelands Regional Medical Center in Sandusky: Christopher Yontz
  • Grandview Medical Center in Dayton: Krishna Patel
  • Humility of Mary Health Partners/St. Joseph Health Center in Warren: Lindsey Benjamin and Cassandra Adams
  • Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center in Toledo: Kevin Swiatek
  • Mount Carmel Health System/Mount Carmel West Medical Center in Columbus: Thomas Zink
  • OhioHealth Doctors Hospital in Columbus: Kayla Davis
  • OhioHealth O’Bleness Memorial Hospital in Athens: Sarah Coffey
  • Southern Ohio Medical Center in Portsmouth: Samantha Yelley Coleman
  • St. John Medical Center in Westlake: Yazid Hussein
  • Western Reserve Hospital in Cuyahoga Falls: Mark Rose
  Office of Communication
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
210 Irvine Hall, Athens, Ohio 45701
Tel: 740-593-2346 FAX: 740-593-0343
Copyright Ohio University (Home)
Last updated: 01/28/2016