Cutler Hall Panoramic Spring

Distinguished Professor Award

The Distinguished Professor Award recognizes outstanding scholarly and creative accomplishments and is the highest permanent recognition attainable by faculty at Ohio University. Recipients must have attained tenure and completed a minimum of five years of service at Ohio University.

Among the privileges granted to Distinguished Professors is the honor of annually naming an undergraduate student to receive a year's full-tuition scholarship, lifetime designation title of Distinguished Professor, a one-quarter paid research leave, stipend, and travel support.

The award, first given in 1959, is supported by an endowment provided by Edwin and Ruth Kennedy to the Baker Fund.



Christopher France named 2014 Distinguished Professor

May 4, 2014

Christopher FranceOhio University President Roderick J. McDavis bestowed the 2014 Distinguished Professor Award on Christopher France, professor of psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences, on May 2, 2014 during the Graduate Commencement Exercises.

The prestigious Distinguished Professor award was established in 1959 and recognizes scholarly accomplishment, professional reputation and contribution to the University.

With the honor, France will receive a lifetime designation, one semester of academic leave and the privilege of naming one undergraduate student annually to receive a distinguished professor scholarship.

McDavis said France is being recognized for his outstanding scholarship and widespread contribution in the fields of health psychology and behavioral medicine. He noted France's pioneering research on the relationship between risk for hypertension and decreased pain perception, which spearheaded the development of a novel model of blood pressure and pain regulation.

"Dr. France's findings have deeply impacted pain assessment and pain treatment, and his research has led to enhancements in the blood donation experience," McDavis said.

France's research has brought in almost $7 million in grants during his 23 years at Ohio University, and he is a fellow of the American Psychological Association, Society of Behavioral Medicine, International Organization of Psychophysiology and the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research.