Wednesday, Jun 20, 2018

Thunderstorm Light Rain, 70 °F


Featured Stories

OHIO joins Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship program

Ohio University joined the Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship program today.

University System of Ohio Chancellor Jim Petro made the announcement at the Ohio Statehouse, welcoming Ohio University, the University of Dayton and the University of Toledo. The additions expand the Fellowship program from four to seven participating universities.

Fellowship recruits at participating universities are accomplished career changers and outstanding recent college graduates in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (the STEM fields), who will prepare for math and science teaching positions in Ohio's urban and rural schools.

Executive Vice President and Provost Pam Benoit attended the announcement on behalf of the University. 

"The Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship program has made a concerted effort to create alliances that allow excellent teacher education programs to develop a pool of much needed teachers in STEM fields," Benoit said. "It is a testament to the Patton College and its partnership with the College of Arts and Sciences and the Russ College that Ohio University was selected to participate."

Renée Middleton, dean of OHIO's Gladys W. and David H. Patton College of Education and Human Services, said, "The selection of Ohio University to participate in the Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship affirms its role as a leader in teacher education."

"The intensive and extensive classroom teaching experience, multi-level mentoring and support mechanisms, expansive networks and attentiveness to professional improvement will make for confident, extraordinarily well prepared new teachers."

OHIO will participate in the 2011-12 recruitment cycle, and will announce its first class of Fellows in spring 2012.

Fellows receive a $30,000 stipend to complete a special intensive master's program at a participating university; preparation in a high-need urban or rural secondary school; support and mentoring throughout a three-year teaching commitment; guidance toward teaching certification; and a lifelong membership in the national network of Woodrow Wilson Fellows.

The three new Fellowship participants join John Carroll University, Ohio State University, University of Akron and University of Cincinnati in the program.

The Fellowship is made possible with federal Race to the Top funds as well as commitments from six Ohio funders, including The Cleveland Foundation, George Gund Foundation, Martha Holden Jennings Foundation, GAR Foundation, Battelle Memorial Institute and The Battelle Fund at the Columbus Foundation, plus matching funds provided by the campuses. Additional support for the program came from the state's Choose Ohio First program.

For more information on the Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowship, click here.