Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
Apply now!
Information Request
Schedule a visit
College Credit Plus
My Ohio Success Network
Dan Milleson
May 09, 2019 : Dan Milleson to receive Austin C. Furbee Award

ST. CLAIRSVILLE, Ohio (May 8, 2019) - Ohio University Eastern Campus has chosen Dan Milleson as the 2019 Austin C. Furbee Award honoree, in recognition of his dedication and contribution to Ohio University and the community.  An award dinner will be held in his honor on Thursday, May 23, at 7pm at Belmont Hills Country Club in St. Clairsville.  A reception will precede the award dinner at 6:30pm.


Dan Milleson grew up in Piedmont, Ohio surrounded by family.  After the Harrison County consolidation of schools, Dan attended Harrison Central High.  While at Harrison Central, Dan was involved heavily in athletics, which played a big role in his overall development, and also helped to form the foundation of many deep friendships.

In 2007, Dan arrived at Ohio University Eastern where he would pursue a business degree and play basketball under the tutelage of his mentor and high school coach Donnie Madzia.  He studied at the Eastern Campus for three years before relocating to the Athens Campus at the beginning of his senior year.  Dan completed the academic requirements and earned a bachelor’s of science degree in business administration in 2011.

In 2013, he would finance the purchase of Milleson Insurance Agency, which had been in his family for three generations.  Since then, Milleson Insurance Agency has added ten full-time employees and opened new offices in Belmont and Jefferson County.

In 2015, Dan and a group of his peers formed a political action committee to fight for a ballot issue to build a new $53M PK-12 Harrison Central school.  After months of knocking on doors, raising money, and carrying a positive message of change, the issue passed on November 3, 2015.  Dan’s nieces, Kendall and Kinsey Hayes, will walk into their brand new school for the first time this August, with 1,500 fellow Husky students.

Following this experience, Dan founded the Harrison Central Alumni Association with the same group that fought for the school, and in 2017 chose to run for State Representative in Ohio’s 95th District.  After a long and grueling campaign that at one point saw him visit 70 towns in 36 days, he was defeated, but not deterred from trying to positively impact our local community.


In 2018, Dan decided to give back to the Eastern Campus by starting a scholarship endowment in the name of his grandfather, R. Kinsey Milleson.  The R. Kinsey Milleson Public Service Scholarship provides awards to students who are pursuing a bachelor’s degree in applied management or political science and meet other established criteria.

Dan credits everything he’s ever been able to accomplish to his parents, Rich and Lori Milleson, his family, his work family, and the friends and mentors who have supported him along the way.


According to Eastern Campus Dean Bob Klein, “Dan has been a champion on our community foundation board for the last several years and played a significant role in the success of our 60th Anniversary Campaign and Gala.  His commitment to the Eastern Campus and the community has been exemplified by his dedication to Harrison County Schools, growing the family business, running for political office and the establishing the R. Kinsey Milleson Public Service Scholarship.  His selection for the Austin C. Furbee Award is a well-deserved recognition of his many contributions to Ohio University, the community, and the region.” 


Austin C. Furbee, for whom the award is named, played a key role in the formation of the Ohio University Eastern Campus.  While serving as a Belmont County Commissioner, Furbee realized that there were limited opportunities for higher education in the Ohio Valley.  As a result, he became instrumental in the commission’s acquisition of the former Belmont County Experimental Station farmland, which was to become a regional campus of Ohio University. 


Furbee’s involvement with Ohio University grew throughout the years.  He was a long-time member of the Ohio University Eastern Regional Coordinating Council, and also presided as chairman of the council when Shannon Hall, the first building on the St. Clairsville campus, was dedicated in 1967.  As a result of Furbee’s efforts, the Eastern Campus has continued to grow, and serve the needs of the community.  Ohio University’s Eastern Campus stands as a tribute to his vision, determination and hard work.    


The Austin C. Furbee award was first given in 1981 after Furbee’s wife, Gladys, established an endowed fund in memory of her husband.  The award is given annually to recognize an individual who has shown dedication, commitment and service to Ohio University and to the community.


Previous Austin C. Furbee Award Recipients

  • Mary J. Poston
  • Dr. Robert J. Parrish
  • Carole A. Mitchell
  • Thomas W. Dunlap
  • Robert Crum
  • Roger W. Stewart
  • James Kacsmar
  • Charles Wilson
  • Karen Nichols
  • Robert W. Ney
  • Dr. E.R. Bovenizer
  • Marshall Piccin
  • William L. Toothman
  • Elizabeth Sproull
  • Harry W. White
  • Michael Jamison
  • George A. Carroll, Jr.
  • James W. Newton, Jr.
  • Daniel L. Frizzi, Jr.
  • Michael McTeague
  • MaryLou Goodman
  • John Bisbocci
  • Terry A. Lee
  • Dama Burkhart
  • Dennis Fox
  • David Brooks
  • Keith A. Sommer
  • Richard W. Greenlee
  • Dr. John S. Mattox
  • Denise M. Penz
  • Rodney D. Hanson and Deborah Hanson Shutler