Charge and Membership

Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

The Council for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity encourages research, scholarship, and creative activity through improved communication within and outside the university. The Council also assists in the evaluation of the distribution of research funds, carries out policy reviews, and serves an advocacy role in all issues that affect research within the university. In addition, the Council provides the President, Provost and Vice President for Research an annual assessment of research at Ohio University.

The Council reports to the Vice President for Research who advises the President and Executive Vice President and Provost (EVPP) on a regular basis. The President and EVPP meet with the Council at least once per year. 

Composition  

Faculty :  14 Voting (Specific College Representations Detailed Below)
Students :  0
Administrative : 2 (1 Voting, At-Large; 1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio: VP for Research and Creative Activity or Designee)
Classified : 0

Total : 16 Total (1 Non-Voting)


Committee Roster

Faculty
Lawrence Witmer, '15 Chair (HCOM) witmerl@ohio.edu
Vic Matta, '16 (COB) matta@ohio.edu
Dave Bayless, '16 (Russ College) bayless@ohio.edu
Katherine Jellison, '16 (Arts & Sciences) jellison@ohio.edu

Michael Braasch, '15 (Russ College) braaschm@ohio.edu
Ben Stuart '15 (Russ College) stuart@ohio.edu
Jim Montgomery '15 (Health Sciences & Professions) montgoj1@ohio.edu
Morgan Vis-Chiasson '15 (*Natural & Physical Sciences & Math) vis-chia@ohio.edu
Stan Alost '15 (Visual Communication) alost@ohio.edu
Christine Gidycz, '15, (Psychology) gidycz@ohio.edu
Orianna Carter, '14 (Regional Higher Education) cartero@ohio.edu
Michele Fiala (COFA) '14 (Music) fialam@ohio.edu
Gene Geist '14 (Patton) geist@ohio.edu 

Administrators
Jan Maxwell, University Libraries maxwelj2@ohio.edu
Joseph Shields, Interim VP Research and Creative Activity (Non-Voting) shieldj1@ohio.edu


The College of Business, Scripps College of Communication, Patton College of Education, College of Fine Arts, College of Health Sciences and Professions, and College of Osteopathic Medicine each have one representative on the Council while the College of Arts and Sciences and the Russ College of Engineering and Technology have three representatives each on the Council. The three representatives from Arts and Sciences come from the humanities; natural and physical sciences and mathematics; and the social sciences. The Regional Campuses as a group and University Libraries each have one representative on the Council. The Vice President for Research serves as an ex officio voting member of the Council.

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.