Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Fog/Mist, 64 °F

Roderick J. McDavis

President Roderick J. McDavis delivers his State of the University speech at the 2013 Faculty and Staff Convocation.

Photo courtesy of: University Communications and Marketing

Featured Stories

President updates campus community on Ridges Advisory Commitee

On Thursday, Sept. 19, President Roderick J. McDavis sent the following message to the Athens Campus community updating them on The Ridges Advisory Committee.

Dear Ohio University faculty, staff and students,

Earlier this year, I provided information to the campus community about Ohio University's Ridges Advisory Committee – a group established by legislation to advise and recommend usage of the former Athens Mental Asylum, which we now call The Ridges. The purpose of my message today is to update you on The Ridges Advisory Committee and The Ridges Master Plan Committee, two groups that will collaborate with the local community to develop a plan for this deeply-valued community resource.

The Ridges Advisory Committee:

As outlined in Substitute House Bill 59, The Ridges Advisory Committee is charged with periodically reviewing the comprehensive land use plans for The Ridges and the university's progress toward its implementation. I have designated Stephen Golding, Vice President for Finance and Administration, to serve as chair of The Ridges Advisory Committee. Other members include:

  • Paul Logue, Athens City Planner as Athens City Mayor Paul Wiehl's Charlie Adkins, Athens County Commissioner
  • Jim Sands, President of Athens City Council
  • Marjorie Stone, Community Representative
  • Pam Callahan, Community Representative

The first meeting of The Ridges Advisory Committee will take place this fall. Members will provide guidance, feedback and recommendations on the land use plan developed by The Ridges Master Plan Committee.
The Ridges Master Plan Committee:

The Ridges Master Plan Committee is charged with updating the capital plan for The Ridges. The Ridges Master Plan Committee will be co-chaired by Harry Wyatt, Associate Vice President for Facilities, and Shawna Bolin, Director of University Planning. The committee will consist of the following subcommittees:

  • Land Use and Development; Chair: Donna Goss, Director of Engagement and Real Estate Management
  • Existing Building Strategy; Chair: Benjamin Stuart, Professor of Civil Engineering
  • Academic Uses; Chair: Joseph Shields, Vice President for Research and Creative Activity, Dean of the Graduate College

Updates to the existing land use plan by The Ridges Master Plan Committee will be based on changes to core university programs and initiatives. This will be an extensive and thoughtful process, which will include input from many community groups including the Athens Historical Society, the City of Athens and others. It is our hope that this collaborative, open approach will foster many opportunities for community feedback as we work to update The Ridges Master Plan.
Stewardship of OHIO History:

Ohio University deeply values the stewardship of our many historic properties. In reverence to the region's past, we are committed to working with the community to determine how our historic 20th Century landmarks can be transformed for use in a 21st Century learning environment.
I am confident that The Ridges Advisory Committee and The Ridges Master Plan Committee, working hand-in-hand with members of our community, will achieve innovative solutions related to the future use of this cherished property.
Roderick J. McDavis