Featured Stories

HTC students earn Goldwater recognition

The Office of Nationally Competitive Awards (ONCA) has announced that Ethan Cottrill has been named as a recipient of the Goldwater Scholarship this year. Additionally, Anna Nkrumah and Sarah Wyss have been named Honorable Mention recipients.

The Goldwater is for sophomores and juniors interested in careers in science, math and engineering. Students are judged based on academic achievement, research experience and their articulation of their career goals. Scholars receive up to $7,500 per year of the award (sophomores receive it for two years, juniors for one). This scholarship is one of the most elite undergraduate awards for students in the mathematics, science and technology fields.

Cottrill is a Cutler Scholar and junior in Honors Tutorial College (HTC), majoring in chemistry. After graduation, Cottrill hopes to apply to Teach for America and the Fulbright Scholarship. Then, his academic goal is to earn a Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry with a focus on photochemistry, conduct research and teach at the university level. His mentors for his application were Jeffrey Rack, Mark McMills and Hugh Richardson: all professors in chemistry and biochemistry.

“I aspire to help solve the problems that confront my generation and prepare upcoming generations of scholars to develop solutions to future problems,” Cottrill said.

Nkrumah is a sophomore in HTC, majoring in chemistry. She would like to obtain a physician-scientist degree in the biomedical sciences so as to be able to conduct research while treating patients. Her advisers for the application were Eric Masson (organic chemistry), Klaus Himmeldirk (chemistry and biochemistry) and Victoria DeRose (University of Oregon).

Wyss is a junior in HTC, majoring in biological sciences. Post graduation, she plans to go to graduate school for a Ph.D. in molecular biology, After that she hopes to do research and teach at a university. Her mentors were Jared Butcher (chemistry and biochemistry), Janet Duerr (biological sciences) and Zijan Xie (physiology and pharmacology, University of Toledo).

“This recognition indicates that Ethan, Anna and Sarah are among the nation’s best and most promising science majors,” said Beth Clodfelter, ONCA director.

To apply for the Goldwater Scholarship, students must first be nominated by the University. For further information on the nomination procedure, visit the ONCA website or contact Clodfelter at 740-593-2302.