OHIO Small Business Development Center launches new website

Alexis Eichelberger
December 5, 2018

The Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at Ohio University’s Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs has launched a newly designed website.The new website, development of which began in summer 2018, offers user-friendly features with a high level of functionality while providing readers with a wide array of information regarding the SBDC. The SBDC’s events and training sessions will be published on the website with online registration capability and contact information for individual counselors is readily available.

Small Business Development Center Director Lissa Jollick said the redesigned website will allow clients and others seeking information about the center to more easily find what they need online.

“I think when people are looking for assistance, it is important for us to have a prominent place on the internet where people can get information.  The website will enable us to more effectively communicate with the business community information related to our services,” Jollick said.

The Small Business Development Center’s provides guidance for new and established business owners by certified and experienced advisors. The center advises and offers training on a range of development topics, including growth strategies, marketing and financial analysis. The SBDC’s services are provided at no cost and funded through Ohio University, the U.S. Small Business Administration and the Ohio Development Services Agency.

The national SBDC network includes over 1,000 centers nationwide and Ohio University’s SBDC is one of 28 in the state of Ohio that aim to bolster small business growth. In 2018, the Ohio University SBDC was awarded with the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Region V Small Business Development Center of the Year.

In conjunction with other Voinovich School programs, the SBDC helps tackle unique challenges in Appalachian economies by serving 12 Southeast Ohio counties: Athens, Meigs, Hocking, Perry, Fairfield, Washington, Morgan, Noble, Monroe, Muskingum, Guernsey, and Belmont.