Ohio University

Find an Advisor

Each college, school, and department has faculty and/or professional advisors who will listen to students and provide appropriate information about academic options, degree programs, and University resources. Academic advisors are interested in student learning and development and will help create educational plans consistent with academic, career, and personal goals. Advisors will also assist students with the preparation of an appropriate schedule each semester. However, advising is a collaborative process. It is the student’s responsibility to be prepared for advising appointments and to know and follow current procedures at the department, school, college, and university levels.

Identify Your Assigned Advisor

Your advisor is listed in My OHIO Student Center in the Advisor box. Your advisor's name and contact information will be listed in the column on the right side of the screen.

Your advisor is also listed on the first page of your DARS report.

Changing Your Major

Students considering changing their major should take several steps:

Changing Your Advisor

Students who are frustrated with the advising they receive, or who are having difficulty making contact with their advisor, should seek assistance in this order:

Students should work to understand and collaborate with their academic advisor and work with the resources above when they struggle to have a helpful working relationship. However, it is important to note that students may request a new advisor from their department office, should they feel a change in advisor assignments is needed.

Advising from Unofficial Sources

There are many people on and off campus who believe they understand the Ohio University curriculum and how to read a DARS. Students should not rely solely on advice from peer mentors, siblings, parents, and friends. Unless someone can view a student’s record in the Faculty and Advising Center, view a DARS report to track progress, and leave a note to document the conversation, they are not an official advisor. Opinions from others are welcome, but please only follow advice from official advisors. Failing to consult with an official advisor could result in incorrect course selection, missing requirements, and/or delayed graduation.

Questions

Questions about academic advising or how to contact an academic advisor should be directed to the advising coordinator for the program, or the college or regional campus student services office.

 


 

Advising Coordinators By Area

Arts & Sciences

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
African American Studies Bayyinah Jeffries jeffrieb@ohio.edu 740.597.3069 Bentley Annex
Anthropology Nancy Tatarek tatarek@ohio.edu 740.593.1378 Bentley Annex 149
Biological Sciences Ann LaComb lacomb@ohio.edu 740.593.0431 Irvine Hall 111
Biological Sciences Chris Schwirian schwiria@ohio.edu 740.593.9490 Irvine Hall 066
Center for Law, Justice, and Culture Smoki Musaraj musaraj@ohio.edu 740.597.2722 Bentley Annex 155
Chemistry & Biochemistry Lauren McMills mcmillsl@ohio.edu 740.593.1754 Clippinger 345
Classics & World Religions Cory Crawford crawfoc1@ohio.edu 740.593.4699 Ellis Hall 241
Economics Patricia Toledo Torres toledot@ohio.edu 740.593.0145 Bentley Annex 345
English Carey  Snyder snyderc3@ohio.edu 740.593.9937 Ellis Hall 353
Environmental & Plant Biology Harvey Ballard ballardh@ohio.edu 740.593.4659 Porter Hall 406
Geography Harold Perkins perkinsh@ohio.edu 740.593.9896 Clippinger 109
Geological Sciences Keith  Milam milamk@ohio.edu 740.593.1106 Clippinger 123
History Jaclyn  Maxwell maxwelj1@ohio.edu 740.593.4352 Bentley Annex 453
Linguistics Michelle O'Malley haugh@ohio.edu 740.593.4321 Gordy Hall 383
Mathematics Todd Young youngt@ohio.edu 740.593.1285 Morton Hall 547
Modern Languages Melissa Figueroa figuerom@ohio.edu 740.593.2767 Gordy Hall 275
Philosophy Al Lent lent@ohio.edu 740.593.4641 Ellis Hall 202
Physics & Astronomy David Tees tees@ohio.edu 740.593.1694 Clippinger 357A
Political Science Barry  Tadlock tadlock@ohio.edu 740.593.4373 Bentley Annex 253
Prelaw Advising Larry Hayman hayman@ohio.edu 740.593.0835 Bentley Hall 001B
Psychology Susan Tice-Alicke tices@ohio.edu 740.597.2718 Porter Hall 261
Sociology Charlie Morgan morganc3@ohio.edu 740.593.1371 Bentley Annex 111
Women’s Gender & Sexuality Studies Kim Little littlek@ohio.edu 740.593.4687 31 S. Court, Rm. 120

 

Business 

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Accounting David Scott dstott@ohio.edu 740.566.6491 Copeland Hall 514
Business Economics Travis Davidson davidsot@ohio.edu 740.593.2034 Bentley Annex 314G
Business Prelaw Ana Rosado-Feger rosadof@ohio.edu 740.593.0119 Copeland Hall 334
International Business Ana Rosado-Feger rosadof@ohio.edu 740.593.0119 Copeland Hall 334
Entrepreneurship Ana  Rosado-Feger rosadof@ohio.edu 740.593.0119 Copeland Hall 334
Finance Travis Davidson davidsot@ohio.edu 740.593.2034 Copeland Hall 514G
General Business Mike Bila bila@ohio.edu 740.593.2042 Copeland Hall 514C
Strategic Leadership and Management Ana Rosado-Feger rosadof@ohio.edu 740.593.0119 Copeland Hall 334
Management Information Systems Gabe Giordano giordano@ohio.edu 740.593.9438 Copeland Hall 514G
Marketing Mick Andzulis drmick@ohio.edu 740.593.2069 Copeland Hall 514B
Sport Management Jim Strode strode@ohio.edu 740.593.9319 Copeland Hall 514A

 

Communication (Scripps)

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address Appointment Link
All Majors Greg Moeller moellerg@ohio.edu 740.593.0246 1st Floor, Leon Harris Student Center, Schoonover Schedule an appointment

 

Education (Patton)

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Ken Bowald kbowald@ohio.edu 740.593.4400 McCracken Hall 103

 

Engineering & Technology (Russ)

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Grace Sallar sallarg1@ohio.edu 740.593.1475 Stocker Center 121

International Studies

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Global Studies Cat Cutcher cutcher@ohio.edu 740.597.2756 Yamada International House 213

 

Fine Arts

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Art+Design Jennie Klein kleinj1@ohio.edu 740.593.4288 Seigfred Hall 528
Dance Travis Gatling gatling@ohio.edu 740.593.9357 Putnam Hall 105
Film Steve Ross ross2@ohio.edu 740.593.9969 31 S. Court St. Room 007
General Maureen Wagner wagnerm@ohio.edu 740.593.1813 Jennings House
Interdisciplinary Arts Garrett  Field fieldg@ohio.edu 740.593.1314 31 S. Court St. Room 068
Music Matt James jamesm1@ohio.edu 740.593.0957 Glidden Hall 576
Student Success Advisor Melanie Tullett tullett@ohio.edu 740.593.4268 Putnam Hall 102
Theater Steven  Leffue stevenleffue@ohio.edu 740.593.9355 Kantner Hall 307C

 

Health Sciences & Professions

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Athletic Training Kristine Ensign ensign@ohio.edu 740.593.9497 Grover Center E187
Child & Family Studies Jenny Chabot chabot@ohio.edu 740.593.2871 Grover Center W353
Communication Sciences & Disorders Fuh-Cherng- Jeng jeng@ohio.edu 740.593.4157 Grover Center W231
Community & Public Health Heather Harmon harmonh@ohio.edu 740.593.1218 Grover Center W341
Dietetics/Nutrition Jana Hovland hovland@ohio.edu 740.593.2875 Grover Center E186
Environmental Health Science Michele Morrone morrone@ohio.edu 740.593.4675 Grover Center W355
Exercise Physiology Sharon Perry perrys1@ohio.edu 740.593.9494 Grover Center E151
Health Services Administration Cory Cronin croninc@ohio.edu 740.593.0447 Grover Center W359
Health Services Administration Kristin Schuller schuller@ohio.edu 740.593.0528 Grover Center W333
Long-Term Health Care Administration Sara Berens berenss@ohio.edu 740.593.7925 Grover Center W332
Nursing Mary Beth Brown brownm8@ohio.edu 740.593.4494 Grover Center E365
Occupational Hygiene & Safety Michele  Morrone morrone@ohio.edu 740.593.9549 Grover Center W355
Physical Therapy Janis Carnahan carnahan@ohio.edu 740.593.1214 Grover Center W290
Social Work Terry Cluse-Tolar cluse@ohio.edu 740.593.1291 Morton Hall 416
Student Success Advisor Chelsea Freeman freemac2@ohio.edu 740.593.0584 Grover Center W370
Undecided - HSP Betsy Kunstel kunstel@ohio.edu 740.593.9336 Grover Center W370
Integrated Healthcare Studies Tobe Gillogly gilloglt@ohio.edu 740.597.7962 Grover Center W178E

 

Honors Tutorial College 

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Beth  Novak novakb@ohio.edu 740.593.2 35 Park Place

 

University College 

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Criminal Justice, Specialized Studies, Associate of Arts or Science, Associate of Individualized Studies Julie Cohara cohara@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140
Undecided/Undeclared Cristy Null nullc1@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140
Technical and Applied Studies Donna  Burgraff burgrafd@ohio.edu 740.774.7204  
Associate of Technical Studies  Jim  Smith smithj27@ohio.edu 614.367.4102  
Associate in Applied Studies (Law Enforcement Techology) Jim  McKean mckean@ohio.edu 740.774.7708 Ohio University Chillicothe, Technology and Engineering Building
Real Estate Roger Watson watsonr@ohio.ed    

 

Certificates and Minors 

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Center for Law, Justice, & Culture Haley Duschinski duschins@ohio.edu 740.593.0823 Bentley Annex 131
Environmental Studies
(undergraduate certificate, last names A - L)
Cheryl Hanzel hanzel@ohio.edu 740.593.9358 The Ridges, Building 22, Room 119
Environmental Studies
(undergraduate certificate, last names M - Z)
Loraine McCosker mccosker@ohio.edu 740.593.0434 The Ridges, Building 22, room 206
Global Health Certificate (undergraduate) Deb McBride mcbrided@ohio.edu 740.593.2359 Grover Center W118
Gerontology Certificate Program          

 

OHIO Online 

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
RN to BSN Mary Beth Brown brownm8@ohio.edu 740.593.4494 Grover Center E365
BA in Psychology Sandra Hoyt hoyts@ohio.edu 740.593.1073 Porter Hall 217
BA in Psychology Monica Price hatfielm@ohio.edu 740.593.1089 Porter Hall 217
BS in Technical Operations Management (last names A - L) Justin Kish kishj@ohio.edu 740.593.9954 Haning Hall 241
BS in Technical Operations Management (last names M - Z) Sarah Blazier blaziers@ohio.edu 740.593.9752 Haning Hall 243
Other eCampus Majors (last names B, C, P V) Tonga Cox coxt1@ohio.edu 740.593.2553 Haning Hall 237
Other eCampus Majors (last names D, H, I, J) Justin Kish kishj@ohio.edu 740.593.9954 Haning Hall 241
Other eCampus Majors (last names A, E, F, R, W, X, Z) Michael Rinaldi-Eichenberg rinaldim@ohio.edu 740.593.2917 Haning Hall 231
Other eCampus Majors (last names G, S, T U) Sarah Blazier blaziers@ohio.edu 740.593.9752 Haning Hall 243
Other eCampus Majors (last names K, L, M, N, O, Q, Y) Kyle McKenzie mckenzie@ohio.edu 740.597.3118 Haning Hall 239
Student Success Coordinator Ginny Cottrill cottrilv@ohio.edu 740.593.0018 Haning Hall 223

 

International Student & Faculty

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Director Diane Cahill cahilld@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
Associate Director Jennifer Nisevich nisevich@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
International Student Advisor Andy Badii badii@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
International Student Advisor Josh Gory gory@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
International Student Advisor Abby Conder conder@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center

 

Global Opportunities 

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Associate Director Keely Davin davin@ohio.edu 740.593.1798 Walter International Education Center 213
Director Catherine Marshall marshalc@ohio.edu 740.593.4583 Walter International Education Center 215
Program Coordinator Emily Englehart eengleha@ohio.edu 740.593.4329 Walter International Education Center 012
Senior Program Coordinator Kirsten Dabelko dabelkok@ohio.ed 740.593.9079 Walter International Education Center 014
Senior Program Coordinator Cherita King kingc8@ohio.edu 740.597.2721 Walter International Education Center 023
Study Away Advisor Samantha Rommel rommel@ohio.edu 740.597.2730 Walter International Education Center 010

 

Regional Campuses and Centers

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Chillicothe Campus Hilltopper Advising Center John Fisher fischerj3@ohio.edu 740.774.7750 Bennett Hall
Eastern Campus Student Services Jennifer Kellner-Muscar kellner@ohio.edu 740.599.2536 Shannon Hall
Lancaster Campus Student Services Phyllis Lanier hughesp@ohio.edu 740.681.3311 Brasee Hall 336
Southern Campus Student Success Center Robert Pleasant pleasanr@ohio.edu 740.533.4596 Collins Center
Zanesville Campus Student Services Ray Rotella rotella@ohio.edu 740.588.1491 Elson Hall 142

 

Student Success Advisors

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address  
Arts and Sciences (except Biological Sciences) Eileen Delehanty-Schulz delehant@ohio.edu 740.597.1543 Wilson Hall Schedule an Appointment
Biological Sciences Suraiya Padiyath padiyath@ohio.edu 740.593.2340 Irvine Hall 108  
College of Business Jen Washko washkoj@ohio.edu 740.566.6479 Copeland Hall 214  
Scripps College of Communication Ashley Beatty-Smith beattya1@ohio.edu 740.593.4883 Schoonover Center 123  
College of Health Sciences and Professions Chelsea Freeman freemac2@ohio.edu 740.566.0884 Grover Center W361  
Russ College of Engineering & Technology Indu Sharma sharmai2@ohio.edu 740.593.1475 Stocer Center 118  
The Patton College of Education Ken Bowald kbowald@ohio.edu 740.593.0603 McCracken Hall 103E  
College of Fine Arts Melanie Tullett tullett@ohio.edu 740.593.4268 Jennings House  
University College Didi Chilcott university.college@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140  

 

Transfer & Relocate Students 

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Transfer & Relocate Didi Chilcott chilcotd@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140