Ohio University

skip to main content

Ohio University Air Force ROTC awarded by United States Air Force


ATHENS, Ohio (Aug. 7, 2019)  - The United States Air Force has recognized Ohio University’s Air Force ROTC (AFROTC) Detachment as the best small detachment of the year in the Northeast Region and has named Master Sergeant Heather Sutton Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year for the Northeast Region. The Northeast Region for AFROTC is made up of 14 states. The Best Detachment Award recognizes Detachment 650’s excellent achievements in five categories including production, education, recruiting and retention, university and public relations, and cadet activities. The award period covers August 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019.

AFROTC Detachment 650 team members include Lieutenant Colonel Layla Sweet, Major Timothy Johansen, Captain Joshua Shaffer, Master Sergeant Heather Sutton, Technical Sergeant Matt Sayers and Ms. Ruth Blickle.

Lieutenant Colonel Layla Sweet is the commander for Detachment 650.

“I feel fortunate to be a part of this extraordinary team,” Sweet said. “They deserve the well-earned distinction of Best Small Detachment.”

Detachment 650 has 55 cadets enrolled in the program and is dedicated to building the character, perseverance and strength of our cadets so they will live by Air Force Core Values -- integrity, service before self and excellence in all they do.

Master Sergeant Heather Sutton has earned the Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year Award. She enlisted in the Air Force in 2000 and has been part of the Detachment 650 team at Ohio University since May 2017. Sutton manages all personnel programs for the Detachment 650 cadets and assists with their transition into their military careers.

“Receiving this award was a huge surprise,” Sutton said. “It would not have been possible without my teammates and the outstanding cadets of Detachment 650.”

AFROTC Detachment 650 has partnered with Ohio University since 1948, one year after the Air Force was formed, to produce high quality young officers for the United States Air Force.

At Ohio University, ROTC programs are housed in University College. For more information about Air Force ROTC Detachment 650, visit the Ohio University Air Force ROTC  website  or email  afrotc650@ohio.edu.

{Photo Caption: A group of Air Force ROTC members.}


Contact:  Samantha Pelham, media relations specialist, at pelham@ohio.edu  or 740-597-1939. Visit OHIO's  official media page  for the latest University news and updates, or follow us on Twitter @ohioumedia

About Ohio University                  
Ohio University strives to be the best student-centered, transformative learning community in America, where approximately 40,000 students realize their promise, faculty advance knowledge, staff achieve excellence, and alumni become global leaders. OHIO is committed to fostering, embracing, and celebrating diversity in all its forms. Our Athens Campus offers students a residential learning experience in one of the nation’s most picturesque academic settings. Additional campuses and centers serve students across the state, and online programs further advance the University’s commitment to providing educational access and opportunity. Visit  www.ohio.edu  for more information.

A group of Air Force ROTC members.
A group of Air Force ROTC members.