Ohio University

Student Accessibility Services recognizes two faculty members as outstanding advocates

The office of Student Accessibility Services has awarded their 2019 Accessibility Ally Awards to Dr. Roger Aden and Dr. Elizabeth Beverly for their dedication toward inclusion and success of students with disabilities.

Dr. Roger Aden is a professor in the School of Communication Studies. The student who nominated Dr. Aden described him as a supportive, empathetic, and compassionate educator, who cares deeply for the well-being of his students. She noted that that Dr. Aden gave her confidence in advocating for what she needed to persist in her program.

“Dr. Aden deserves to be recognized because of his empathy and compassion as an educator and as someone who deeply cares for the well-being of his students,” said his nominator. “One of the best qualities about Dr. Aden is that he finds solutions and new ways for me to complete otherwise challenging tasks. I know I will go on in life and always think of Dr. Aden as a very special person who made a tremendous difference during one of the most difficult times in my life.”

“We commend Dr. Aden’s efforts to look beyond traditional methods to support access (and ultimately success) for the student,” said Christy Jenkins, associate director of Student Accessibility Services.

Dr. Elizabeth Beverly is an assistant professor in the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine’s Department of Family Medicine.

The faculty member who nominated Dr. Beverly for the award described her as a champion for students who qualify for Student Accessibility Services, specifically for students and faculty who have diabetes. She organized a poster campaign to increase diabetes awareness on campus, provided assistance to the student organization Diabetes Outreach Support and Education for Students (DOSES) in creating welcome kits for students with diabetes, and has worked to place hyperglycemia kits around campus.

“We appreciate Dr. Beverly’s efforts in helping students get connected to resources on campus, while also providing support to the greater University community,” said Jenkins.

Both recipients received their awards and a celebratory lunch with Student Accessibility Services staff.

The Accessibility Ally Award is an annual recognition awarded to individuals who demonstrate a high level of respect for all members of the university community, take on multiple perspectives to understand the impacts of disabilities, express flexibility and empathy with new issues, openly discusses disabilities and consult with Student Accessibility Services, and encourage full access through implementation of accommodations.

Nominations were submitted by students, faculty, and staff from all Ohio University campuses. The award selection committee reviewed nominations demonstrating how individuals went above and beyond to include and provide access for students with disabilities. 

Last year’s recipients were Dr. Deborah Dodson, senior lecturer at Ohio University Zanesville, and Jneanne Hacker, director of business operations and conference services in Housing and Residence Life.