Ohio University

Advising Resources

Ohio University Academic Advising Mission Statement

Ohio University recognizes academic advising to be a central element of the educational experience of its undergraduate students. Advising is a collaborative relationship for which advisors and students share responsibility and through which students create sound educational plans consistent with their academic, career, and personal goals. Advisors are responsible for being accessible and responsive to students, and for providing accurate, timely information. Students are responsible for being prepared for advising sessions, and for understanding university and major requirements.

The University provides many resources to its advisors to assist them in providing accurate and timely information. Your college student services office is a great place to direct questions. Click on the links below to view advising resources and information specific to your college.

Aside from each college's student services office, there are also many campus-wide resources available to academic advisors. Click on the links below to utilize these helpful resources.

Undergraduate Catalog
The undergraduate catalog is a great resource for official degree requirements and university academic policies.

Faculty & Advising Center
You can access contact information for your students, as well as academic information such as GPA, hours earned, DARS, and PID. You can also look here to determine if your students are first-generation, athletes, or using Veterans Affairs (VA) Educational Benefits. This resource also allows you to keep electronic notes for your advisees.

University Academic Advising Council
UAAC is Ohio University's professional advising organization.

Appreciative Advising
Appreciative advising is an advising model that Ohio University advisors utilize. It is a student-centered model that utilizes positive, open-ended questions to collaboratively work with students to identify their goals and assist them in making plans to achieve them. It is comprised of six phases: Disarm, Discover, Dream, Design, Deliver, and Don't Settle.