Ohio University

Margaret Boyd Scholars Program

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program seeks to inspire and encourage undergraduate women to become engaged, confident and connected leaders at Ohio University and beyond. Women are selected as Boyd Scholars in fall semester of their first year. The four-year program includes a first-year seminar, a second-year residential component, a third-year internship experience and a fourth-year capstone seminar.

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program is open to students from all colleges and majors. Scholars are encouraged to pursue other interests, including study abroad, athletics and involvement in campus and community organizations.

Named in honor of Margaret Boyd, Ohio University's first female graduate [of the class of 1873], the program is a collaboration between the Division of Student Affairs, the Office for Diversity and Inclusion and University College. The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program is a 2012 grant recipient of the prestigious 1804 Fund.

Program Staff

Patricia McSteen, PhD
Associate Dean of Students and Director of the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program
Baker University Center
345 One Park Place
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740-593-1800
mcsteenp@ohio.edu

Tanya N. Barnett, MA
Director of the Full-Time MBA and PMBA programs
Associate Director of Graduate Student Success
College of Business Copeland Hall 409D1 Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740-593-2452
barnett@ohio.edu

Advisory Board Members

Cindy Anderson
Ph.D., Professor of Sociology  
151 Bentley Annex 
740-593-1385 
andersc2@ohio.edu 

Gerardine Botte , Ph.D.
Director, Center for Electrochemical Engineering Research  
165 Stocker Center 
740-593-9670 
botte@ohio.edu 

Jennifer Bowie , M.S.
Executive Director of Development  
206 McKee House 
740-597-2987 
bowiej@ohio.edu 

Melissa Haviland , MFA
Associate Professor of Art  
528 Seigfred Hall 
740-593-9996 
haviland@ohio.edu 

Michelle O'Malley , Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Linguistics  
383 Gordy Hall 
740-593-4321 
haugh@ohio.edu

Nancy Sandler , Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics  
368 C Clippinger Lab 
740-593-9434
sandler@ohio.edu 

Miriam Shadis , Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History  
455 Bentley Annex 
740-593-4364 
shadis@ohio.edu

Request More Information

To find out more about the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program, please email us with questions.

boydscholars@ohio.edu

Give to the Program