Charge and Membership

First Year Council

The First Year Council will be charged with the following responsibilities:
1. Gain knowledge of all initiatives/programs/policies on campus affecting first year students (and would be the successor to the Foundations of Excellence Task Force).
2. Set campus-wide priorities among competing first year initiatives.
Coordinate and align first year programs, policies, and practices.
3. Plan and advocate for first year student success initiatives.
4. Increase the visibility of first year issues and programs within the university community.
5. Sponsor regular First Year forums/open meetings/workshops to diffuse knowledge about, and commitment to, first year issues and programs across all campuses.
6. Advocate for faculty development in first year teaching.
7. Design and advocate for a faculty reward structure to encourage excellence in first year teaching and advising.
8. Identify current first year student advocates among faculty on all campuses and recruit more.
9. Consult widely with instructors of first year classes including but not limited to continuing faculty and teaching assistants. 

Composition  

Faculty :  6 Voting
Students :  1 Undergraduate Voting
Administrative : 3 Voting; 6 Non-Voting Ex Officio
Classified : 0

Total : 16


Committee Roster

Faculty        
Joann Benigno, Co-Chair benigno@ohio.edu CSD, College of Health Sciences and Professions 2021
Ryan Fogt fogtr@ohio.edu Geolgy, A&S 2021
Matthew Stallard stallard@ohio.edu Group II/English, A&S 2021
Laura Saltman saltman@ohio.edu Biological Sciences 2021
Ghirmai Negash negashg@ohio.edu English 2021
Awaiting Additional Appointment    
         
Student        
Awaiting Appointment Confirmation    
         
Administrators      
Wendy Merb-Brown, Co-Chair merbw@ohio.edu Assistant Dean for Operations and Learning Community Programs 2021
Alexander Eukland ecklund@ohio.edu Student Accessibility Services 2021
Eileen Theodore-Shusta theodore@ohio.edu Univeristy Libraries 2021
         
Adinistrators, Ex Officio      
Joni Wadley schallej@ohio.edu Insitutional Research  
Deb Benton bentond@ohio.edu Registrar  
Tricia Barrick barrick@ohio.edu Bursar  
Valerie Miller millerv@ohio.edu Finanical Aid  
Jenny Klein kleinj2@ohio.ed Allen Student Help Center  
Tory Rowlands rowlands@ohio.edu Residential Housing  
TBD Learning Community  


The council will be co-chaired by a Group I faculty member and the Director of Retention. The rest of the voting membership will be: four Group I6-8 faculty members, a majority of whom are Group Ione of whom is the chair of EMAC; three members representative of the Assistant/ Deans, Associate Deans, and Student Affairs, and continuing faculty; and one undergraduate student member. Cross-membership of this Council and EMAC is expected and SEMSC (the Strategic Enrollment Management Steering Committee) is expected and encouraged. If possible, one of the faculty members should come from the a regional campus for the first three years after the Council is established.

In addition there will be the following ex officio members (non-voting) or their representatives:
Institutional Research
Registrar

Bursar

Financial Aid
Allen Student Help Center
Residential Housing
Learning Communities

  


 

       

Committees