Charge and Membership

First Year Council

The First Year Council will be charged with the following responsibilities:
1. Gain knowledge of all initiatives/programs/policies on campus affecting first year students (and would be the successor to the Foundations of Excellence Task Force).
2. Set campus-wide priorities among competing first year initiatives.
Coordinate and align first year programs, policies, and practices.
3. Plan and advocate for first year student success initiatives.
4. Increase the visibility of first year issues and programs within the university community.
5. Sponsor regular First Year forums/open meetings/workshops to diffuse knowledge about, and commitment to, first year issues and programs across all campuses.
6. Advocate for faculty development in first year teaching.
7. Design and advocate for a faculty reward structure to encourage excellence in first year teaching and advising.
8. Identify current first year student advocates among faculty on all campuses and recruit more.
9. Consult widely with instructors of first year classes including but not limited to continuing faculty and teaching assistants. 


Faculty :  6 Voting
Students :  1 Undergraduate Voting
Administrative : 3 Voting; 6 Non-Voting Ex Officio
Classified : 0

Total : 16

Committee Roster

Joann Benigno, Co-Chair CSD, College of Health Sciences and Professions 2021
Ryan Fogt Geolgy, A&S 2021
Matthew Stallard Group II/English, A&S 2021
Laura Saltman Biological Sciences 2021
Ghirmai Negash English 2021
Awaiting Additional Appointment    
Awaiting Appointment Confirmation    
Wendy Merb-Brown, Co-Chair Assistant Dean for Operations and Learning Community Programs 2021
Alexander Eukland Student Accessibility Services 2021
Eileen Theodore-Shusta Univeristy Libraries 2021
Adinistrators, Ex Officio      
Joni Wadley Insitutional Research  
Deb Benton Registrar  
Tricia Barrick Bursar  
Valerie Miller Finanical Aid  
Jenny Klein kleinj2@ohio.ed Allen Student Help Center  
Tory Rowlands Residential Housing  
TBD Learning Community  

The council will be co-chaired by a Group I faculty member and the Director of Retention. The rest of the voting membership will be: four Group I6-8 faculty members, a majority of whom are Group Ione of whom is the chair of EMAC; three members representative of the Assistant/ Deans, Associate Deans, and Student Affairs, and continuing faculty; and one undergraduate student member. Cross-membership of this Council and EMAC is expected and SEMSC (the Strategic Enrollment Management Steering Committee) is expected and encouraged. If possible, one of the faculty members should come from the a regional campus for the first three years after the Council is established.

In addition there will be the following ex officio members (non-voting) or their representatives:
Institutional Research


Financial Aid
Allen Student Help Center
Residential Housing
Learning Communities