Charge and Membership

University Curriculum Council

The University Curriculum Council is the final organization in a system of committees composed of departmental curriculum committees, college curriculum committees, and the University Curriculum Council itself. The function of the University Curriculum Council is to make recommendations concerning:

    * addition and deletion of academic programs;
    * after formal review, the quality and priority of existing academic programs;
    * addition, deletion, and changes in courses; and
    * academic requirements.

The Curriculum Council is the final recommending voice in curricular matters. Its recommendations go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The University Curriculum Council is organized into four standing committees: Program, Review, Individual Course, and General Education. The Program Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and first follow-up of new programs. The Review Committee is concerned with cyclic review and evaluation of existing programs. The Individual Course Committee is concerned with coordination at the university level of addition, deletion, and changes in all course offerings. The General Education Committee is concerned with addition, deletion, and changes in all general education course offerings and with review and revision of general education structure and policies. If they cannot be assigned to a standing committee, issues concerning educational and program requirements will be reviewed by a special committee appointed by the chairperson. When dealing with graduate programs, the Curriculum Council and its committees work with the Graduate Council. 

Composition  

Faculty :  30 Voting (1 Vice Chair of Faculty Senate, Serves as UCC Chair; 16 At Large; 12 EPSA Members; 1 Chair of Graduate Council)
Students :  7 Voting (2 Graduate Students, 2 Alternate Graduate Students; 5 Undergraduate Students, 5 Alternate Undergraduate Students)
Administrative : 14 Voting (10 College Deans/Dean Equivalent; 1 Assoc. Provost for International Studies; 1 Assoc. Provost for Graduate Studies; 1 Regional Campus Dean, chosen by Reg. Campus Deans; 1 Professional Staff of Alden Library) 1 Non-Voting, Ex-Officio: EVPP Rep.
Classified : 0

Total : 52 (1 Non-Voting Ex-Officio)


Committee Roster

Faculty        
Sara Helfrich, Chair helfrich@ohio.edu EPSA, Education  
Gordon Brooks brooksg@ohio.edu Graduate Council Chair  
Laura Brown   Music Therapy 2019
Zaki Kuruppalil kuruppal@ohio.edu Engineering and Technology Management 2020
Katherine Hartman hartmank@ohio.edu Marketing/Business 2021
Bayyinah Jeffries jeffrieb@ohio.edu African/American Studies 2021
Bärbel Such such@ohio.edu German/Mondern Languages 2021
Mark Rowe rowem@ohio.edu Analytics & Information Systems/Business 2021
Timothy Goheen goheen@ohio.edu Visual Communication/Director 2021
Kristine Ensign ensign@ohio.edu Applied Health Science & Wellness/Athletic Training 2021
Lijing Yang yangl@ohio.edu Counseling and Higher Education 2021
Mary Rogus rogus@ohio.edu Scripps 2019
David Ingram ingram@ohio.edu A&S 2019
Pramod Kanwar kanwar@ohio.edu Mathematics, Zanesville 2020
Allison White whitea3@ohio.edu Office Administration, Chillicothe 2020
Mattew LeRiche leriche@ohio.edu Global Studies 2020
Carla Childres childerc@ohio.edu COB 2019
Hans Kruse kruse@ohio.edu Scripps 2019
Katherine Hartman   Chair EPSA, Marketing  
Heather Edwards   EPSA, English  
Ruth Paler   EPSA, Classics and World Religions  
John Cotton cotton@ohio.edu EPSA, echanical Engineering  
         
Fuh-Cherng Jang jeng@ohio.edu EPSA, Communication Sciences and Disorders  
Tim Anderson andersot@ohio.edu Graudate Council Designee, Psychology  
Anirudh Ruhil ruhil@ohio.edu Graduate Council Desginee, Voinovich School  
Sonsoles De Lacalle delacall@ohio.edu Graduate Council Designee, Biomedical Sciences  
TBD     Graduate Council Designee, Health Sciences and Professions, Graduate Studies  
         
Undergraduate Students      
Benjamin Carmen bc818216@ohio.edu   2019
Marilyn  Madison mm163915@ohio.edu   2019
Emma Shaver es447316@ohio.edu   2019
Paula  Atfiled pa881915@ohio.edu   2019
Ryanne Morr rm573416@ohio.edu   2019
Georgia Curran Curran gc568915@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
Amal  Afyouni aa536414@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
Andy Brunson ab838616@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
Alicia Lundy Morse al466615@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
Madison Sloat ms658714@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
         
Graduate Students      
Grayson Basina     2019
Michael Senteney ms202708@ohio.edu   2019
Aaron Babcock ab385513@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
Maria Modayil mm121711@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
         
Administrators        
Kelly Broughton   Univeristy Libraries  
Joseph Shields   InterimDean, Arts and Sciences  
Elizabeth Sayrs   Dean, Univeristy College  
William Willan   Executive Dean, Regional Campuses  
Dennis Irwin   Dean, Russ College  
Randy Leite   Dean, Health Sciences and Professions  
Renee Middleton   Dean, Patton College  
Scott Titsworth   Dean, Scripps College  
Hugh Sherman   Dean, College of Business  
Cary Frith   Interim Dean, Honors Tutorial  
Matthew Shaftel   Dean, Colleg eof Fine Arts  
Mark Weinberg   Founding Dean, Voinovich School  
Lorna Jean Edmonds   Vice Provost for Global Affiars  
         
         
         
Current as of September 14, 2018    


All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.