Charge and Membership

Post Publishing Board

The role of the Post Publishing Board is to assist The Post in its efforts to help meet the university community's communication needs and to provide maximum opportunity for educational journalistic experience. The Board appoints the editor, business manager, and assistant business manager of The Post. The Board approves the annual budget, submits it to the Vice President for Student Affairs, and supervises financial procedures and operations. The Board hears complaints not satisfactorily handled by the editor.

Recognizing the desirability and necessity of a free press on the Ohio University campus, the Board acknowledges that its responsibility regarding the content of The Post is advisory and includes:

    * consulting with The Post editors in the development of a set of specific written internal policies which will serve as guidelines for making day-to-day editorial decisions and as orientation for new staff personnel;
    * consulting with the editors to assure such policies are followed consistently;
    * consulting with the editors to assure that personnel understand and abide by such generally accepted ethical responsibilities as those stated in the Code of Ethics of the Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi;
    * consulting with the editors to assure maximum factual accuracy in The Post;
    * providing periodic critiques of both general journalistic quality and specific content of The Post; and
    * making suggestions for additional coverage.

The Board reports to the Vice President for Student Affairs. 


Faculty :  4 Voting: 2 At Large; 2 from Scripps School of Journalism
Students :  3 Voting: 1 Graduate; 3 Undergraduate, one of whom is Editor of The Post
Administrative : 3 Voting: 2 At Large; 1 Appointed by Vice President for Student Affairs
Classified : 1 Voting: At Large

Total : 12 Voting: Including 1 Community Member

Committee Roster

Hans Meyer, Chair Scripps 2021
Victoria LaPoe E.W. Scripps School of Journalist 2021
Awaiting At-Large Appointment  
Awaiting At-Large Appointment  
Undergraduate Students        
Samuel Tornow   2019
Hannah Burke   2019
Graduate Students        
Claudia Cisneros   2019
Wendy Rogers Learning Communities 2021
Sara Berens Academic Advisor and Retention Specialist 2019
Classified Staff        
Theresa Meyer Records Mamangement Assoc. and Chief Flight Dispatcher 2020
Ex Officio Voting        
Lauren Fischer Editor, The Post   
Ruth Dudding Community Member 2021
Ex Officio non-voting        
Megan Vogel Student Affairs  
Current as of October 1, 2018    

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.