Charge and Membership

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council reviews, coordinates, and serves as an advocate for graduate education at Ohio University. The Council has both advisory and policy-recommending responsibilities for graduate education. The Council initiates, reviews, and recommends University-wide policy and new directions for graduate education.

The Graduate Council recommends to the University Curriculum Council the initiation, implementation, and elimination of graduate programs and degrees at Ohio University. Other recommendations by the Council go through the Provost to the President for final approval.

The composition of the Graduate Council represents both those departments granting Ph.D. degrees and those departments offering only Master's degrees. 

Composition  

Faculty :  14 Voting (Minimum of 5 from Doctoral Programs and 5 from Master's-Only Programs)
Students :  3 Voting Graduate Students (1 President of Graduate Student Senate; 2 At Large; 1 Alternate)
Administrative : 8 Voting (Deans/Dean Equivalent or Designees of: Arts and Sciences, Business, Scripps, Patton, Russ, Fine Arts, Health Services and Professions, University Libraries, Heritage Osteopathic COM) and 1 Non-Voting (Associate Provost for Graduate Studies)
Classified : 0

Total : 26 (1 Non-Voting)


Committee Roster

Faculty        
Gordon Brooks, Chair brooksg@ohio.edu Education Studies, Graduate Program 2020
Terry Cluse-Tolar cluse@ohio.edu HSP, Social and Public Health, Masters 2019
Charlotte Elster elster@ohio.edu Physics/Astronomy 2020
Andrew Fodor fodora@ohio.edu Finance 2021
Peter Harrington harringp@ohio.edu Chemistry/Biochemistry, Doctoral 2019
Alexandra Hibbit hibbitt@ohio.edu COFA, Art, Masters 2019
Wojciech Jadwisienczak jadwisie@ohio.edu Electrical Engineering, Masters and Doctoral 2020
Paul Jones jonesp2@ohio.edu English 2021
Joseph Lee leej3@ohio.edu Linguistics 2021
Munir Nazzal nazzal@ohio.edu Civil Engineering 2021
Erik Ramsey ramseye@ohio.edu Theater 2019
Scott Sith smiths14@ohio.edu COB, Sports Administration, Masters 2019
Jennifer Smith smithj33@ohio.edu Fine Arts/Music Theory, Masters 2020
Lijing Yang yangl@ohio.edu Counseling and Higher Education 2021
         
Graduate Students        
Maria Modayil mm121711@ohio.edu Graduate Student Senate President 2019
Charlotte Yang yy506416@ohio.edu At Large 2019
Spencer  Cappelli sc352812@ohio.edu At Large 2019
Fazel Bateni fb973016@ohio.edu Alternate 2019
         
Administrators        
TBD Health Sciences and Professions  
Greg Newton newtong@ohio.edu Scripps College of Communication  
Chris Moberg moberg@ohio.edu College of Business  
Sonsolse De Lacalle delacall@ohio.edu Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Jody Lamb lambj@ohio.edu College of Fine Arts  
Shawn Ostermann osterman@ohio.edu Russ College  
Ann Paulins paulins@ohio.edu Patton College of Education  
Brian McCarthy mccarthy@ohio.edu College of Arts and Sciences  
Steve Howard howard@ohio.edu Center for International Studies  
Mark Weinberg weinberm@ohio.edu Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs  
         
University Libraries        
Janet Hulm hulm@ohio.edu Assistant Dean for Collections and Digital Initiatives
         
Ex-Officio        
David Koonce koonce@ohio.edu Graduate College, Interim Dean  
Katherine Tadlock tadlockk@ohio.edu Graduate College, Assistant Dean  
         
         
         
Current as of September 14, 2018    


All University committees follow the academic-year calendar. All students serve one-year terms. Undergraduate students are indicated by US and graduate students by GS. Faculty, administrators and staff generally serve three-year terms; the year a committee member's term expires is shown to the right of the person's name. Individuals who are not students and who have no year to the right of their names have Ex-Officio appointments. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.
  


 

       

Committees