Ohio University

College gateway with "Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway" plaque

Interdisciplinary Council

Charge and Membership

The Interdisciplinary Council serves as a centralized voice to promote interdisciplinary activities at Ohio University. The Council reports to the Provost and is charged with advancing interdisciplinary activities; identifying barriers to interdisciplinary activities and suggesting ways to remove them; working with appropriate groups in reviewing and recommending policies and procedures regarding interdisciplinary activities; reviewing and making recommendations regarding interdisciplinary proposals and agreements.

This committee is currently on hiatus.

Composition

Faculty
10 Voting (1 Arts and Sciences; 1 Business; 1 Scripps; 1 Patton; 1 Russ (School of Engineering); 1 Fine Arts; 1 Health Sciences and Professions; 1 Int. Studies; 1 Heritage COM; 1 Regional Higher Ed)
Students
2 Voting (1 Graduate; 1 Undergraduate)
Administrative
4 Voting (2 Heads of Interdisciplinary Research centers; 2 Heads of Interdisciplinary Service Providers)
Classified
1 Voting

Total
14 Voting

Committee Roster

Faculty

Devika Chawla
chawla@ohio.edu
Professor, School of Communication Studies

Zijian Diao
diao@ohio.edu
Associate Professor and Faculty Chair
Mathmatics, Eastern Campus

Judith Grant
grantj1@ohio.edu
Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences
2017

Steve Howard
howard@ohio.edu
Professor, Media Arts and Studies

Wojciech Jadwisienczak
jadwisie@ohio.edu
Electrical Engineering
2020

Solveig Spjeldnes
spjeldne@ohio.edu
Social Work

Susan Williams
willias7@ohio.edu
Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine

Undergraduate Student

Benjamin Mathes
bm471311@ohio.edu

Graduate Student

Anna-Kaye Rowe
ar495613@ohio.edu

Administrators

Kimberly Blue
bluek@ohio.edu
Associate Director for Career & Leadership Development

Edward Pauley
pauleye@ohio.edu
Director, Kennedy Museum of Art

Classified Staff Member

Christi Lee
leec@ohio.edu
Career Services

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.