Interdisciplinary Council

Charge and Membership

The Interdisciplinary Council serves as a centralized voice to promote interdisciplinary activities at Ohio University. The Council reports to the Provost and is charged with advancing interdisciplinary activities; identifying barriers to interdisciplinary activities and suggesting ways to remove them; working with appropriate groups in reviewing and recommending policies and procedures regarding interdisciplinary activities; reviewing and making recommendations regarding interdisciplinary proposals and agreements.

This committee is currently on hiatus.


10 Voting (1 Arts and Sciences; 1 Business; 1 Scripps; 1 Patton; 1 Russ (School of Engineering); 1 Fine Arts; 1 Health Sciences and Professions; 1 Int. Studies; 1 Heritage COM; 1 Regional Higher Ed)
2 Voting (1 Graduate; 1 Undergraduate)
4 Voting (2 Heads of Interdisciplinary Research centers; 2 Heads of Interdisciplinary Service Providers)
1 Voting
14 Voting

Committee Roster


Devika Chawla
Professor, School of Communication Studies

Zijian Diao
Associate Professor of Mathematics

Judith Grant
Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences

Steve Howard
Professor, Media Arts and Studies

Wojciech Jadwisienczak
Electrical Engineering

Solveig Spjeldnes
Social Work

Susan Williams
Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine

Undergraduate Student

Benjamin Mathes

Graduate Student

Anna-Kaye Rowe


Kimberly Blue
Associate Director for Career & Leadership Development

Edward Pauley
Director, Kennedy Museum of Art

Classified Staff Member

Christi Lee
Career Services

All University committees follow the academic-year calendar.

All students serve one-year terms. Faculty, administrators, and staff generally serve three-year terms. Ex-Officio appointments have voting privileges unless otherwise noted.