Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Ohio University is OPEN.

Power has been restored to Seigfred Hall. The building has resumed normal operations. More Information
Make It Known


The Scripps College has dozens of scholarships for communication majors in all five schools. Many are academically based. Others honor commitment to professional achievement, leadership, and community service. Some are targeted to students from particular regions, counties, or cities.

Scholarship consideration for freshmen is automatic upon completing the Admissions application to Ohio University. Please visit the following link for details:

Winter quarter is scholarship application season for continuing students. As soon as Scripps College students arrive back on campus for winter quarter, they should:

Below is a list of scholarships awarded annually within the Scripps College:

The Don Perris Endowed Scholarship-Internship

Scripps Howard Foundation-Internship

Advertising Women of New York

Roger E. Ailes Scholarships

Andy Alexander Scholarship in Journalism

Cortland Anderson Memorial Award

Anonymous Scholarship in Communication

R. Randolph Apgar Scholarship

Leonard F. Auerbach Regional Representatives Corporation Scholarship

Russell N. Baird High School Editor’s Award

Athens News—Bob Baker Scholarship

Robert Baker Scholarship

Ray Beatty/Ted Foster Endowment

Ralph Bitzer Memorial Advancement Fund

Paul Boase Family Scholarship

Paul Boase Prize for Outstanding Scholarship

Manly Burgin Memorial, William B. Klaus and Robert A. Klaus

Honorary Outstanding Underclassmen in Radio Award

Nancy Cartwright Endowment for Forensics Students

Central Ohio Professional Chapter, Society of Professional Journalists Scholarship

Jeffery D. Chaddock Endowed Scholarship Fund

Francis G. and Margaret A. Channell Scholarship

Eliza Alcorn Clark Memorial Scholarship

Robert L. Coe Memorial Scholarship

College of Communication Dean’s Scholarship Fund

College of Communication Underrepresented Student Recruitment Scholarships

Communication Internship Support Fund

Robert Considine Memorial Foreign Internship Award

Copley Newspapers Scholarship

Hugh M. Culbertson Fund for Internship support

Tom Daniels Debate Scholarship

Barbara M. Davis Graduate Journalism Award

Karen and Roger Deardorff Graduate Award

Distinguished Professor Scholarship

F&W Publications Scholarship

James W. Faulkner Memorial Scholarship

Shirley and William Fleischer Foreign Correspondence Internship

Ford Scholarship

Founder’s Vision Award

Mickey Franko Memorial Scholarship

Robert L. and Teri W. Gerbig Graduate Scholarship

Robert L. and Teri W. Gerbig Undergraduate Scholarship

Archie Greer Scholarship

Leon Harris Jr. Scholarship

Haskell Student Production Fund

Wallace and Rebecca L. Hodes Memorial Foreign Correspondence Internship

John B. Holden Scholarship in Forensics

Helen Hoover Memorial Scholarship

Loren Joseph Hortin Scholarship

Ronald H. Iori Scholarship

Ralph Izard POST Endowed Scholarship

Mary Jo and A. Robert Kent Scholarship

Kodak Professional Photography Scholarship

Otto and Ruth Kruse Scholarship

Allan and June Land Award

Laura Landro Scholarship in Journalism

George Starr Lasher Living Legacy

George Starr Lasher Scholarship

Matt Lauer Internship Support Fund

Boyd Lewis Scholarship through the Scripps Howard Foundation

Joseph M. Lichtenberg Memorial Scholarship

Richard O. Linke Scholarship for Journalism

Dan Lowe Memorial Scholarship

Edward J. Martin Memorial Scholarship

J. Warren McClure School Advisory Board/Tom Lonsbury Scholarship McClure School Director Scholarship

Sandra Lou McKay Memorial Scholarship

Frances McVicker Maxwell Debate Award

George and Dorothy Pursley Messerly Endowed Scholarship

Mulgrew Visual Communication Travel Endowment

Nationwide Insurance Enterprise Foundation Legacy Awards

Joel M. Needle Memorial Scholarship

Ohio University Forensics Individual Events Award

Fred Palmer Scholarship in Journalism

Judy C. Pearson Graduate Award

The Plain Dealer Scholarship

Reimer Internship Award

Everett M. Rogers Scholar Award

Cornelius Ryan Foreign Internships

Dorothy and Larry Schey Endowed Scholarship

Philip E. Schmidt Broadcasting Scholarship

School of Journalism Freshman Women’s Scholarship

School of Journalism Scholarship

Paul Schutzer Memorial Internship in Visual Communication

Charles L. Scott Scholarship

Scripps Howard Foundation High School Journalism Workshop Scholarships

Scripps Howard Foundation Boyd D. Lewis Scholarship

Scripps Howard Foundation Scholarships

Scripps Howard Foundation Susan J. Porter Scholarship

Emerson “Vic” Sherrow Memorial Scholarship

Loren C. Staats Forensics Award

Tom Streich Memorial Scholarship

Lawrence R. Tavcar Memorial Scholarship

Tom Turnbull Memorial Scholarship

Christine T. Twardzik Memorial Scholarship

Madeline L. Utley Scholarship

Vern N. Utley Scholarship

Mike Vaughn Scholarship

Harold and Jeanette White Scholarship in Forensics

John R. Wilhelm Foreign Correspondence Internship Award

Ellen Woodward Memorial Award

Jesse and Ruth Zousmer Memorial Scholarship