Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
Make It Known
Bookmark and Share

Sandhya Kambhampati named journalism’s top senior

Mar 27, 2013

Sandhya Kambhampati, center, stands proudly with her parents after receiving the Outstanding Overall Senior Award at the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism Award Banquet, Monday, March 25. / Photos by Megan Westervelt

Sandhya Kambhampati named journalism’s top senior

Awards, scholarships bestowed at journalism banquet

By Kerry Tuttle

ATHENS, Ohio (March 27, 2013)—The E.W. Scripps School of Journalism awarded scholarships and awards Monday, March 25. The Outstanding Overall Senior Award was presented to Sandhya Kambhampati.

Kambhampati will graduate a semester early in December 2013 with a 3.79 GPA. Her ambition is to become an investigative reporter and has been recruited by USA Today for its Investigative Team internship.

In presenting the award, Bob Stewart, the school’s director said that not only is Kambhampati a fine scholar, but also has a great personality.

“Sandhya is an exceptional student who always goes above and beyond what is expected,” he said. “She’s also one of the most positive and delightful young women you will meet.”

During her time at Scripps, she has worked at WOUB as a multimedia reporter and documentary producer. She is a journalism school ambassador and serves as an out-of-state ambassador for Ohio University. She’s been an officer and active member of the Society of Professional Journalists since her freshman year and currently serves as the president of that organization. She has also been an officer and active member of RTDNA since her sophomore year, currently serving as social chair.

Kambhampati is the vice president of Sigma Delta Pi, a national collegiate Hispanic honor society, and has been on the Dean’s List every quarter/semester during her time at Ohio University. She is a volunteer Spanish teacher at Alexander Elementary School and has studied abroad in Mexico and Vietnam.

She has completed internships at CNN Newsource and Alan Wiess Productions. She is a reporter-producer on Washington Week Voices of the Voters and has had a package published on Washington Week’s website, with a PBS producer calling it the best piece produced by an university recruited to work on the project.

Additional award winners and scholarship winners announced that evening include:

  • Top News and Information Track Outstanding Senior: Rachel Swalin
  • Top Strategic Communication Track Outstanding Senior: Heather Bartman
  • 2013 Top Advertising Senior: Hilary Johnson
  • 2013 Top Broadcast Journalism Senior: Michael Locklear
  • 2013 Top Carr Van Anda Senior: Lo Martinez
  • 2013 Top HTC Journalism Senior: Gabriel Weinstein
  • 2013 Top Magazine Journalism Senior: Kathryn Potraz
  • 2013 Top News Editorial Journalism Senior: Pat Holmes
  • 2013 Top Online Journalism Senior: Lindsay Boyle
  • 2013 Top Public Relations Senior: Kellie Snyder
  • 2013 Outstanding Graduate Students: Sally Ann Cruikshank, Jennifer Doyle and Molly Yanity
  • Bob Considine Memorial Foreign Correspondence Internship Scholarship: Kaylyn Hlavaty
  • John Wilhelm Foreign Correspondence Internship Scholarship: Lindsay Boyle
  • Fleischer Foreign Correspondence Internship Scholarship: Rebecca McKinsey
  • Maxine Stewart Foreign Correspondence Internship for Coverage of Culture and Religion Scholarship: Victoria Calderon
  • College of Communication Scholarships: Na’Tyra Green and Juliana Scheiderer
  • Helen Hoover Scholarships: Ann Watercutter and Zainab Kandeh
  • Edward J. Martin Scholarship: Alex Westerh
  • Gerbig Scholarship: Allison Barwacz
  • Athens News – Bob Baker Scholarship: Katie Foglia
  • Scripps Howard Foundation Susan J. Porter Scholarship: Rachel Sayers
  • Scripps Howard Foundation Boyd D. Lewis Scholarship: Camille Smith
  • Scripps Howard Foundation General Scholarships: Brianna DiPilato and Brooke Bunce
  • Don Perris Internship Scholarship Grants: Molly Vignos, Lindsay Friedman and Emily Votaw
  • Emerson “Vic” Sherow Memorial Scholarship: Regina Donizetti
  • Cortland Anderson Scholarships: Jasmine Grillmeier and Trista Thurston
  • Tom Price and Susan Crites Price Scholarship: Anjelica Oswald
  • Loren Joseph Hortin Scholarship: Amy Worrell
  • Herb Moss Business of Baseball Scholarship: Stephen Uhlmann
  • Fred A. Palmer Scholarship in Journalism: Christa Lamendola
  • Central Ohio Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists Dohn Scholarship: Kali Borovic
  • Joseph Lichtenberg Memorial Scholarship: Brad Parks
  • Andrew Alexander Scholarships: Adrienne Green and Holly Moody
  • Robert Baker Scholarship: Theresa Ianni
  • Guido Stempel Journalism Scholarship: Jacob Betzner
  • Lawrence R. Tavcar Scholarships: Allison Evans and Melissa Wells
  • Dan Lowe Memorial Scholarships: Matthew Doyle and Brad Friedman
  • Ron Iori Scholarship: Mallorie Sullivan
  • The Ford Scholar Award: Jasmine Garcia
  • George and Dorothy Pursley Messerly Scholarship: Marley Brison
  • Frances G. and Margaret A. Channell Scholarship: MaryKate McHugh
  • Tom Turnbull Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Volpenhein
  • Eliza Al-corn Clark Memorial Scholarship: Kierra Cotton
  • George Starr Lasher Living Legacy Scholarship Awards: Caleigh Bourgeois and Ashley Gilkerson
  • Lasher-Evarts Quality of Writing Scholarship: Kaitrin McCoy
  • Frank Deaner Journalism Scholarship: Carly Damman
  • Marc and Lila Rosenweig Scholarships: Amanda Breedlove and Lindsey Zimmerman
  • Randolph Apgar Scholarship for Ethics: Ben Postlethwait
  • Kay Murphy Price Scholarships: Kaitlyn Hendershot, Kate Irby and Hallie Rawlinson
  • Westfall Magazine Scholarships: Colleen Kratofil
  • Ralph Izard – Post Scholarship: Brandon Carte
  • Richard O. Linke Scholarship: Marissa McDaid
  • Russell Baird High School Newspaper Editor Scholarship: Rebekah Barnes of William Mason High School in Mason, Ohio
  • Colleen “Koky” Dishon Scholarship: Courtney Spiess of Heritage High School in Wake Forest, North Carolina
  • L.J. Hortin Distinguished Alumnus Award: Paul Hagen