Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
Make It Known

Scripps alumni encouraged to nominate mentors for L.J. Hortin Award

Jan 17, 2013

Scripps alumni encouraged to nominate mentors for L.J. Hortin Award

ATHENS, Ohio (Jan. 17, 2013)—Nominations for the 2013 L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award are being accepted through March 1, 2013. Living communication professors are eligible.

While various classes and experiences shape the education of students in the Scripps College of Communication, it may be that one communication professor has a lasting influence as students become alumni and move into the workforce. For Tom Kuby, BSJ ’55, MSJ ’77, that professor was Loren Joseph Hortin, who taught journalism classes at Ohio University from 1947 to 1967.

In 2000, Mr. Kuby established the L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award to honor Professor Hortin. The award is given to a current or former faculty member who exhibits a commitment to the professional and personal growth of students. The selection process is based on each faculty member’s continual efforts to go beyond the standard mentoring role, his or her ongoing relationship with nominators, and his or her impact on nominators’ careers.

Current faculty winners receive $1500 for professional development or a $1000 cash prize (less taxes), while emeriti faculty may designate $1500 to their chosen Scripps College of Communication program or initiative.

Those who have won the award thus far (and are ineligible to win again) include: Jeff Redefer (2012); Ray Wagner (2011); Anne Cooper-Chen (2010); David Lucas (2009); Drew McDaniel (2008); Ralph Izard (2007); Chuck Scott (2006); Joseph Berman (2005); Guido H. Stempel III (2004); Dru Riley Evarts (2003); Joe Richie (2002); and David Descutner (2001).

Alumni of the college are invited to honor their mentor this year by submitting the name of the communication professor who helped them become the person and professional they are today. Nominations should include a paragraph about how the faculty mentor nominee influenced the nominator and continues to do so.  

Nominations should be sent to by March 1, 2013. The 2013 award will be presented during Communication Week, to be conducted March 18-22 on Ohio University’s main campus in Athens.