Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
Make It Known
Bookmark and Share

12th annual Shootout puts MDIA students in the hot seat

Mar 4, 2014

Ohio University Media Arts and Studies students work together to produce a three- to five-minute short film in just 48 hours. / Photos by Yi-Ke Peng

12th annual Shootout puts MDIA students in the hot seat

By Kerry Tuttle

ATHENS, Ohio (March 4, 2014)—The twelfth annual 48-hour Shootout took place Feb. 21-23 as Media Arts and Studies students dedicated their weekend to the production of a short film. The Shootout is a student competition where teams are assigned a genre, prop and line of dialogue that they must integrate into a three- to five-minute short by writing, casting, shooting and editing the entire production in just two short days.

“I think that this year was one of our very best in terms of overall quality and creativity,” said Frederick Lewis, associate professor in the School of Media Arts and Studies and a faculty advisor for the Shootout.

One of the changes this year was that the event producers and judges wanted the films to appeal to a larger, family-friendly audience. “I cautioned the team captains that the judges would not look kindly toward projects that relied on guns and gratuitous violence. The students took that to heart this year and found much more original ways to tell stories,” said Lewis.

The competition began Friday evening at 6:30 and concluded 48 hours later with the competition screening at Memorial Auditorium. During the weekend, teams had to write a script, find locations and actors, and direct, produce and edit their short film.

“The 48-hour shootout is one of my favorite weekends of the year,” said Caitlin Stone, senior video production major and a Shootout participant. “It is hard work and can be exhausting, but it is truly the only time that the media school gets together and you can really see the talent of all your classmates and colleagues.”

See the talent of the winning teams, as well as some honorable mentions using the links below:

Open Division

  • First Place – The Rainmaker by Lucky Beggar Productions
  • Second Place – Wither by Cinema Tree Studios
  • Third Place – Bad Eggs by Stiff Places Productions
  • Honorable Mention – A Slice of Love by OUGDA
  • Honorable Mention – She by True Bliss

Freshman/Sophomore Division