Graduate College announces recipients of 2020-21 Named Fellowships

From Staff Reports
April 3, 2020

Each year, the Ohio University Graduate College funds up to five Named Fellowships, which are awarded through a competitive nomination basis. Each award provides a fellowship of $15,000, plus a full-tuition scholarship for fall and spring semesters.

The 2020-21 recipients of the Named Fellowships are:

Student: Raeven Bastock
Department/Program: Molecular & Cellular Biology
Award: Graduate College Fellowship
Project Title: “Temperature dependent gene regulation in Staphylococcus aureus”

Student: Skye Robinson Hillis
Department/Program: Theater
Award: Anthony Trisolini Graduate Fellowship

Project Title: “The Martha Mitchell Effect”

Student: Courtney Hook
Department/Program: Communication Studies
Award: Claude Kantner Graduate Fellowship
Project Title: “Expanding Understandings of Involuntary Membership and Organizational (Dis)Engagement: A Dialectical Analysis of Prisoners’ Constructions of Rehabilitation”

Student: Samantha (Kempker) Margherio
Department/Program: Psychology
Award: John Cady Graduate Fellowship
Project Title: “Long-term Effects of a Training Intervention for Adolescents with ADHD on Alcohol Use”

Student: Nicholas Whitticar
Department/Program: Translational Biomedical Sciences
Award: Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship
Project Title: “A 3D-printed organ-on-a-chip system to determine the role of pulsatile insulin secretion in liver function”

For more information about the program, visit