Ohio University

skip to main content

Research Division announces fall 2018 funding and workshops

From staff reports | Aug 17, 2018

The Ohio University Research Division will offer several workshops this fall for faculty, staff and students seeking to apply for internal awards to support their research, scholarship or creative work. Proposals will be accepted during fall semester for several of the internal awards programs.

More information about these and other programs, including guidelines, may be found on the Research Division funding page.
 

FOR FACULTY AND STAFF

Ohio University Research Committee (OURC)

Competitive awards of up to $8,000 provide seed money for faculty and staff to pursue new research and creative activity projects. Priority is for new faculty and staff, or established faculty pursuing projects that are a clear departure from previous research foci.  Two review cycles in fall and spring.

Deadlines: 
Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018, 4 p.m., and Thursday, Feb. 7, 2019, 4 p.m.

Workshops:
Thursday, Sept. 13, 2018, 2-3 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 14, 2018, 10-11 a.m. (repeat session); 301U Alden Library

Tuesday Nov. 6, 2018, 2-3 p.m.; Wednesday Nov. 7, 2018, 10-11 a.m. (repeat session); 301U Alden Library

Baker Fund Awards Committee

Competitive awards of up to $12,000 to faculty and staff to support research, scholarship and creative activity. The Committee seeks to support projects that are near completion and can hopefully be brought to full completion with the assistance of an award.  Two review cycles in fall and spring.

Deadlines:
Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018, 4 p.m., and Thursday, Feb. 14, 2019, 4 p.m.

Workshops: 
Thursday, Sept. 13, 2018, 2-3 p.m., and Friday, Sept. 14, 2018, 10-11 a.m. (repeat session); 301U Alden Library

Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018, 2-3 p.m., and Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2018, 10-11 a.m. (repeat session); 301U Alden Library

1804 Fund

Funds to enhance the undergraduate and graduate student educational experience, faculty research and research infrastructure.

Deadlines: 
Friday, Feb. 15, 2019 for preliminary discussions; Friday, Mar. 15, 2019, 4 p.m., proposal deadline

Workshops:
Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2018, 4-5 p.m., and Thursday, Sept. 20, 2018, 11 a.m.-noon (repeat); 301U Alden Library
Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2019, 11 a.m.-noon, and Thursday, Jan. 31, 2019, 9-10 a.m.; 301U Alden Library

Note: attending these workshops is optional and is not a substitute for the required meeting with the VP for Research and Creative Activity or Dean of University College.
 

FOR STUDENTS

Provost Undergraduate Research Fund

Small awards of up to $1,500 to fund research and creative activity conducted by undergraduates.

Deadline:
Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018, 4 p.m.

Workshops:
Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2018, 4-5 p.m., and Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2018, 11 a.m.-noon (repeat session); 301 U Alden Library

Student Enhancement Awards

Competitive awards to support undergraduate, graduate and medical student research, scholarship and creative activities. Awards of up to $6,000 to support research and travel to attend a professional meeting to present results.

Deadline:
Thursday, Jan. 17, 2019, 4 p.m.

Workshops:
Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2018, noon-1 p.m., and Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018, 5-6 p.m. (repeat session); 301U Alden Library; light refreshments provided

Graduate Student Senate programs

Grant Student Senate Grant for Original Work
Competitive awards to graduate students to conduct original research, scholarship or creative work. Semester deadlines. Maximum award $750.

Fall Deadline: Saturday, Sept. 15, 2018
-- --      -- --     -- --
Grant Student Senate Travel Program
Will support travel to present original work, as well as travel for professional development workshops and seminars. Proposal selected by lottery. Semester deadlines. Maximum award $500.

Fall Deadline: Saturday, Oct. 20, 2018