Bar for top and bottom of Provost header
Executive Vice President and Provost

Dr. Chaden Djalali

Chaden Djalali, Executive Vice President and Provost 

Make your new home away from home on one of the most welcoming and picturesque campuses in the U.S. At OHIO, you'll find new friends and supportive professors as your learning experiences empower you for success.Click here to learn more!


Bar for top and bottom of Provost header

Pictures from the annual Faculty Teaching and Research Awards Recognition Ceremonies

Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching




Recipient selection is based on excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside the classroom, as acknowledged by peers and students, including: teaching practices and innovations, influences on curriculum, student mentoring, colleague mentoring, and scholarship with respect to teaching. Each award recipient will hold the title of Provost Teacher for three years and will receive $1,000 annually ($3,000 total) during that time.



Full-time Group II faculty from one of Ohio University's campuses.


Selection Committee

The Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching Selection Committee evaluates applicants. The committee, selected by the associate provost for faculty and academic planning is composed of four Group II faculty, one undergraduate student, and one graduate student. Faculty members on the committee serve three-year rotating terms. Students serve one-year terms.

The committee generally gives one award each year, but may elect to not give an award if no applicants meet award standards.



All faculty, alumni, and students of Ohio University may nominate. Announcements inviting nominations will be sent out campus-wide during fall semester of each year.

Group II faculty may be identified by the following titles: Lecturer, Associate Lecturer, or Senior Lecturer
If you are unsure whether or not the teacher you wish to nominate is in the Group II classification you may wish to check the person's regional campus, department, or school website.

Nominations for both the Provost's Award and the Presidential Teacher Award are submitted through the same form because students and alumni do not always know whether their favorite teacher is Group I or Group II.

Deadline for Nominations: Monday, September 24, 2018

Click here or go to to access the form there.


Notification of Nomination 

All eligible nominees are notified via an e-mail sent to their OHIO email address.

Application Information

Nominated faculty, click here to go to the application information page.

Selection Process

The committee selects up to four finalists based on the merit of their portfolios. Once selected, the committee observes each finalist in the classroom; interviews each finalist; and interviews his/her department chair, school director, or division coordinator. The committee then makes a determination as to which, if any, will receive the award.

A committee representative notifies winners and finalists after the selection process is complete.

If you have questions, please contact Anita Leach, Executive Assistant for Academic Planning, at or 740-593-9877 or Howard Dewald, Associate Provost for Faculty and Academic Planning at or at 740-593-2577.