Ohio University

EVPP Biography

Chaden Djalali was appointed Executive Vice President and Provost of Ohio University, effective August 1, 2018. He previously served as dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Iowa; before that, he served as a Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Physics department at University of South Carolina. Prior to his tenure and service at University of South Carolina, Dr. Djalali was a Tenured Research Scientist at IPN-Orsay, France.

Dr. Djalali earned his BS and MA degrees in Physics from the University of Paris XI, a doctorate in Nuclear Physics from IPN-Orsay in Paris, and a These d'Etat (post-doctoral degree) with highest honors from IPN-Orsay. Dr. Djalali is a member of the TREK Collaboration at the Japan Proton Accelerator Research Complex (JPARC) and a member of the CLAS Collaboration at the Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility/Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility in Newport News, Virginia. Among his many academic accolades, Dr. Djalali was recognized with a Carolina Distinguished Professorship in 2007.