Skip to: Main Content Search Main Navigation Audience Navigation
Southern Campus
My Ohio
Course Offerings
College Credit Plus
Keystroke Catalyst Awards
November 30, 2016 : Southern Campus faculty members celebrated at OHIO’s Faculty Newsmakers Gala
Gary Tillis, who teaches in the fine arts program at the Southern Campus, and Charles Jarrett, associate professor of sociology, were among those celebrated at Ohio University’s second annual Faculty Newsmakers Gala.
The Faculty Newsmakers Gala debuted last fall as a means of honoring Ohio University faculty who elevate the University and raise its national and global profile through media coverage of their work and expertise and, in some cases, participation in OHIO’s Experts Directory. Hosted by University Communications and Marketing (UCM) in partnership with the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, this year’s event was held the evening of Oct. 18 in the Baker University Center Ballroom.
This year’s gala was held in celebration of 142 faculty members – representing nine colleges on the Athens Campus and four of OHIO’s regional campuses – who were featured in more than 2,600 media reports during the 2015 calendar year.
“Ohio University boasts a network of campus communicators committed to enhancing the University’s reputation and brand recognition, and we are proud to call each of our faculty newsmakers part of that team,” said Renea Morris, OHIO’s chief marketing officer. “Our celebration this evening is a special way to express our appreciation to them and to everyone who plays a role in promoting our University and the great work that takes place here at OHIO.”
Howard Dewald, associate provost for faculty and academic planning, had the honor of presenting special recognition awards to 19 OHIO faculty newsmakers – those who earned the most media placements in 2015 as well as those who were quoted in media reports related to the Associated Press’ “Top 10 Stories of 2015.” 
“You serve our community as distinguished educators, scholars, mentors and researchers, but tonight, we honor you as ambassadors of this University and thank you for your efforts,” Dewald said.
Keystroke Catalyst AwardsThe 20 faculty newsmakers who received special recognition were presented awards designed by UCM. Dubbed the “Keystroke Catalyst Awards,” the awards are fashioned as a typewriter. “The typewriter remains timeless in its symbolism, underscoring the wide-ranging impact a single person can have on enriching others across the region or even around the world,” said Morris.
“I’m immensely proud of all of our faculty,” said Ohio University Southern Dean Nicole Pennington. “As higher education becomes more global, the coverage our professors receive is an important way to share their accomplishments and exciting work to a wider audience.”
For more information about the Faculty Newsmakers Gala, visit