Ohio University

Search within:
Presidential Search

Presidential Search

Ohio University is initiating the search for its 23rd president to succeed President Hugh Sherman who was appointed to the position by the Board of Trustees in June 2021. Selecting a president is one of the most important responsibilities of the Board of Trustees and to facilitate the process, the board will appoint a search committee, is retaining an executive search firm, and is implementing an engagement plan to ensure the opinions of our students, faculty, staff, and broader OHIO community are considered.

Engaging Bobcats

The Board of Trustees has engaged a facilitator who specializes in collaborative conversations and stakeholder research to ensure that all university stakeholder voices are heard. Input will be gathered at the outset of the process, beginning in early September, through a series of surveys and focus groups as well as World Café conversations and small virtual meetings with selected partners. A final report with summaries of all quantitative and qualitative feedback will be released after the Board of Trustees’ October meeting.

Stakeholder Engagement Process

Aerial view of buildings on the Ohio University Athens campus

Onboarding the Right Search Firm

In the pursuit of the highest caliber candidates, OHIO's Board of Trustees has retained AGB Search to help it develop an advanced understanding of the University’s goals and mission along with OHIO’s unique culture. The search firm will also assist with recruitment and bring candidates forward to the search committee.

Recommendations for candidates can be submitted to AGB Search at OhioUniversityPresident@agbsearch.com.

Guiding the Search

The search committee for OHIO's 23rd president will be chaired by Board of Trustees Chair Peggy Viehweger and will include representatives from across the University community:

  • Joseph Becherer – Ohio University Alumni Representative, Vice Chair, Ohio University Alumni Association Board of Directors
  • Jenn Bennett – Chair, Ohio University Administrative Senate, Executive Director of Wellbeing
  • Kübra Civan – President, Ohio University Graduate Student Senate
  • Cary Cooper – Past Chair, Ohio University Board of Trustees
  • Todd Eisworth – Vice Chair, Faculty Senate, Associate Professor, Math, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Ana Rosado Feger – Associate Professor of Management, Chair of the Management Department, College of Business
  • Clay Lewis – University Life Commissioner, Ohio University Student Senate 
  • Hannah Nissen – Dean of Campus and Community Relations, Ohio University Zanesville Campus 
  • Steve Patterson – Mayor, City of Athens
  • Damon Scott – Vice President of the National Board for the Ohio University Ebony Bobcat Network
  • Donal Skinner – Dean, Honors Tutorial College
  • Matthew Shaftel – Dean, College of Fine Arts
  • Dayna Shoulders – President, Ohio University Student Senate
  • Diane Smullen – Vice Chair, Ohio University Board of Trustees
  • Perry Sook – Chair, Ohio University Foundation Board of Trustees
  • Amrit Thapa – Vice President, Ohio University Graduate Student Senate
  • Save the Date: Faculty/Staff Forum Sept. 29

    All Ohio University faculty and staff are invited to participate in an open forum on the presidential search moderated in the style of World Cafe Conversations on September 29. Morning and afternoon sessions will be held to accommodate schedules. More information will be announced as details are confirmed.

The Right Time for the Right Leader

Ohio University’s 23rd President will take the helm of Ohio University following the transformational two-year term of President Hugh Sherman. President Sherman was appointed by the Ohio University Board of Trustees in June of 2021 following the retirement of former President Duane Nellis. President Sherman, who previously served as Dean of OHIO’s College of Business, outlined an ambitious two-year agenda with five clear priorities. In his first year in office, the University achieved R1 research status and achieved one of its largest first-year classes in history. The next President will have the opportunity to further a trajectory of success at the institution.