Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Sunday, September 21, 2003
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
2004 L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award nominations sought

ATHENS, Ohio (Sept. 21, 2003) -- College of Communication alumni are encouraged to nominate current or past faculty members for the 2004 L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award by Oct. 31.

Created and supported by Tom Kuby, BSJ '55, the L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award was established in 2000 to honor Kuby's mentor, Loren Joseph Hortin, who joined the journalism faculty in 1947 and was director of the School of Journalism from 1951 to 1967. During his tenure he not only advised his current students, but provided career counsel to graduates of the school.

The College of Communication encourages its faculty to follow Hortin's example. The L.J. Hortin Faculty Mentor Award is presented annually to a current or former College of Communication faculty member who exemplifies commitment to the personal and professional development of students. No posthumous nominations will be accepted.

The selection process is based on the faculty member's established, ongoing mentoring relationship with his or her nominator, the faculty member's significant impact on the career of the nominator and professional advice the faculty member provided beyond the classroom.

The 2004 award will be presented at the college's annual Communication Week Banquet on April 25, 2004. Past winners include Dru Riley Evarts (2003), a longtime professor in the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism; Joe Richie (2002), an assistant professor in the School of Telecommunications; and David Descutner (2001), formerly a professor in the School of Communication Studies and now dean of University College and associate provost for undergraduate studies at Ohio University.

Nominations are reviewed by the College of Communication Dean's Advisory Council. All previous nominations are carried forward. You may submit a nomination letter for the 2004 recipient by Oct. 31 by contacting Dean Kathy Krendl, Ohio University, Radio Television Building Athens, OH 45701 or at (740) 593-4883 or krendl@ohio.edu.

[ 30 ]

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved