Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, March 9, 2004
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Ohio University Bicentennial
Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine presents its 2004 Employee Service Awards

ATHENS, Ohio (March 9, 2004) -- The Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine presented its 2004 Service Awards on the afternoon Feb. 25 in Irvine Hall on the Athens campus. The college recognized 50 employees with a combined 625 years of service to the college. Several units of the college also presented awards to outstanding employees.

Wayne Carlsen and Barbara PfeifferOU-COM Dean Jack Brose, D.O., saluted the hard work of all the school's employees.

"A year ago, we were losing very large amounts of money on a daily basis because of the way that we were structured, particularly because of our clinical operation," Brose said. "Today, that has stopped. The school is now on very solid financial ground and that is because of the very hard work of everybody here at OU-COM. I am well aware that everybody has had to take on new jobs, learn new skills and work harder than ever before. It's really paid off, because the school is now in the best shape it probably has ever been, and we're moving forward."

Brose also said that the fact so many OU-COM employees are being honored for years of service demonstrates the staff and faculty's dedication to the college.

"It's just amazing," Brose said. "You look today, and you have people who have been with us for 25 years receiving awards. If that's not commitment, I don't know what is. There are very few organizations that have a number of people who have served for 25 years, and at OU-COM, it's not uncommon."

The award ceremony was highlighted by a light-hearted theatrical presentation by Norman Gevitz, Ph.D., chairman of the Department of Social Medicine, who announced the "Second Annual Social Medicine NORMY Awards." Gevitz presented NORMY awards to Nancy Cooper, fellowship coordinator; Judith Edinger, director of pre-doctoral education; Sarah McGrew, early clinical contact coordinator; Cheri McFee, administrative assistant; Deborah Meyer, director for interdisciplinary mental education; and Michael Weiser, associate director of communication. A special "Silver Weasie" award was presented to Charles "Chip" Rogers, director of external relations, who has served the college for almost 30 years and will be retiring in June.

James Preston, D.O., assistant dean for the college's Northwest Centers for Osteopathic Research and Education and the director of medical education at Firelands Regional Medical Center, and Connie Walker, administrative assistant for the Northwest CORE, received outstanding employee of the year awards for the Office of Academic Affairs. Robert Dakin, administrative associate, and Sarah Tipton, administrative assistant, received student professional support and relations unit awards. The Office of Information Systems and Instructional Technology presented Phil Swatzel, CORE senior network engineer, with its outstanding employee of the year award. The Department of Biomedical Sciences honored Kathy Gossett, administrative assistant, and Jamie Remy, administrative associate. Brose presented the Department of Family Medicine Award to Jay Shubrook, D.O., assistant professor of family medicine, and to Michelle Bobo, administrative assistant. Finally, the Department of Geriatric Medicine/Gerontology presented a lifetime achievement award to Barbara Pfeiffer, M.P.H., geriatric medicine administrator.

A 2003 perfect attendance award was also presented to Joe Wolfe, storekeeper.

Employees recognized by OU-COM for 25 years of service were David Brown, D.O.; Paul Cadamagnani, D.O.; Bobbi Conliffe; Peter Dane, D.O.; Joseph Eastman, Ph.D.; Ronald Portanova, Ph.D.; Lenard Presutti, D.O.; and Harold C. Thompson, D.O.

Twenty-year award winners were David C. Bradley; Kathy Brooks; C. Thomas Clark, D.O.; David Stroh, D.O.; Kathleen Trace; Nancy Wilcox; and J. Michael Yeager.

The college presented 15-year awards to Robert Conatser; B. Kathy Gebard; Karl Harnish, D.O.; Calvin James, Ph.D.; Donna Mabry; and Paul Peterson.

Ten-year award recipients were William Burke, D.O.; Rosemary Butcher; Janice Carrick, D.O.; John Dehmann; Ruth Ann Freeman; Jack Ramey, D.O., Christopher Simpson, D.O.; Martha Simpson, D.O.; Lynn Smith; and Sarah Tipton.

Five-year awards were presented to Allison Batchelor, M.D.; Mark Berryman, Ph.D.; Susan Blanchard; Eric Clift; Angela Degnan; Katina Doughty; Kelly Gorscak; Robert Gotfried, D.O.; Mario Grijalva, Ph.D.; Kari Gunter-Seymour; Margaret Harrison; Mark Loudin; Esther McClain; Leeanna Morgan; Felicia Nowak, M.D., Ph.D.; S. Nick Okada; Jay Shubrook, D.O.; Jack Stewart; Rebecca Vinson; and Keith Watson, D.O.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Writer/Editor Kevin Sanders, (740) 593-0896

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved