Outlook: Ohio University News & Information

Monday, June 1, 2015
1804 Fund recipients for 2008

Sep 15, 2008  

In the faculty research and graduate studies category:

Project: "Nanoscale and Quantum Phenomena Institute"

Recipients: Liwei Chen, Tadeusz Malinski, Hugh Richardson, Gregory Van Patten, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Ido Braslavsky, Horacio Castillo, Alexander Govorov, Saw-Wai Hla, David Ingram, Martin Kordesch, Nancy Sandler, Arthur Smith, Eric Stinaff and Sergio Ulloa, Department of Physics and Astronomy; Wojciech Jadwisienczak, Savas Kaya and Ralph Whaley, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Amount: $59,946

Project: "Acquisition of a Laser Microdissection System"

Recipients: Fabian Benencia, Karen Coschigano, Ramiro Malgor, and Felicia Nowak, Department of Biomedical Sciences; John Kopchick, Department of Biomedical Sciences and the Edison Biotechnology Institute; Monica Burdick and Doug Goetz, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Susan Evans, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Vijayanand Nadella and Sarah Wyatt, Department of Environmental and Plant Biology; Kelly McCall, Department of Specialty Medicine
Amount: $40,000

Project: "Preparing Graduate Students to Teach in Undergraduate Classrooms: A Case Study"

Recipients: Craig McCarthy, Department of Psychology, and Holly Raffle, Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs

Amount: $18,771

Project: "Sport and Development"

Recipient: Andrew Kreutzer, School of Recreation and Sport Sciences


In the undergraduate learning category:

Project: "Difficult Dialogues Project"

Recipient: Steve Hays, Department of Classics and World Religions

Amount: $40,000

Project: "Development of an Honors Program in the College of Education"

Recipient: Aimee Howley, College of Education

Amount: $36,109

Project: "Computers in the Classroom (and beyond) to Enhance Student Learning"

Recipients: Arthur Trese and Sarah Wyatt, Department of Environmental and Plant Biology

Amount: $29,205

Project: "School of Art Computer Technology Lab"

Recipient: David LaPalombara, School of Art

Amount: $15,703

Project: "The Appalachian Writers Guild"

Recipient: JoAnne Dugan, Department of Teacher Education

Amount: $15,000

Project: "A Pilot Project of M-Learning Efficacy and Assessment Approaches in the Applied Sciences"

Recipients: D. Lee Beard, Academic Advancement Center; David Moore, Instructional Technology; and Timothy Ryan, School of Health Sciences

Amount: $14,573

Project: "Ohio University: A Campus of Meaningful Places"

Roger Aden, School of Communication Studies

Amount: $11,962

Project: "Localizing Environmental and Science Journalism in Southeast Ohio"

Recipients: Bernhard Debatin and Ellen Gerl, E.W. Scripps School of Journalism
Amount: $9,500


Updated Sept. 19, 2008


Related Links
Foundation announces 1804 Fund awards: http://www.ohio.edu/outlook/08-09/September/30.cfm 

Published: Sep 15, 2008 11:13 AM  

Share this story

Bookmark and Share

Email To:

A valid EMAIL TO address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.
Email From:

A valid EMAIL FROM address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.


 Top stories

Feb 4, 2003
Residence halls conserve and recycle
Feb 5, 2003
E Street to Late Night: An evening with Max Weinberg
Feb 17, 2003
Kenner Bush receives prestigious Founders Citation
Wilfred Konneker receives prestigious Founders Citation
Mar 5, 2003
The Local Girls to perform at Ohio University Lancaster Campus
Sep 2, 2003
Local artist Ora Anderson featured on WOUB's 'Afternoon Edition'

Sign up for emergency text messages.
Outlook welcomes your feedback, news items and story ideas
Share comments about the site
Submit an announcement
Share a faculty, staff or departmental achievement

Subscribe to the Outlook listserv

Tel: 740-593-1890    Fax: 740-593-1887   E-mail:
All Rights Reserved