Outlook: Ohio University News & Information

Monday, June 1, 2015
Quarters to Semesters Transition Team forms

Sep 8, 2008  
By Casey S. Elliott  

The team that will determine the process for Ohio University's transition to semesters will meet for the first time at 5 p.m. Tuesday in Baker University Center 231.

President Roderick J. McDavis named the team, which comprises 18 members and 12 non-voting members and includes representatives of the deans, faculty, executive staff, college-level staff, administrative employees, classified employees, regional campuses, the Athens community, graduate and undergraduate students. Ex-officio members responsible for areas affected by a transition will serve in supporting roles.

Co-chaired by Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of University College David Descutner and Professor of Classics Tom Carpenter, the team includes these members: David Thomas, University Curriculum Council; Constance Esmond-Kiger, chair/director representative; Sergio Lopez-Permouth, Tracy Leinbaugh, Jeremy Webster and Geoff Buckley, Faculty Senate; Pam Sealover, regional campus faculty representative; Brice Bible, executive staff representative; Thomas Scanlan, associate/assistant dean representative; Brenda Noftz, Administrative Senate; George Cheripko, Classified Senate; Peter Wickman, Graduate Student Senate; Michael Adeyanju and Bailey Miles, Undergraduate Student Senate; and Bill Willan, regional campus dean. Still to be announced are a representative from the Athens community and a third undergraduate representative.

Ex-officio members are Director of Enterprise Applications Shelley Ruff, Registrar Debra Benton, Bursar Sherry Downs, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management Craig Cornell, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs Martin Tuck, Associate Provost for Academic Budget and Planning John Day, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Ryan Lombardi, Associate Provost for Institutional Research Michael Williford, Associate Vice President/Chief of Staff in Finance and Administration Terry Conry, Senior Associate Vice President for University Outreach Stephen Flaherty, Chief of Staff and Special Assistant to the President Rebecca Watts, and interim Executive Director of University Communications and Marketing Gina Calcamuggio.

Thomas, Lopez-Permouth, Leinbaugh, Willan and Williford also were members of the 2007 Academic System and Calendar Task Force.



Related Links
Switch to semesters recommended:  http://www.ohio.edu/outlook/07-08/June/585.cfm 
Krendl updates board on semester recommendation:  http://www.ohio.edu/outlook/07-08/June/624.cfm  

Published: Sep 8, 2008 6:47 PM  

Share this story

Bookmark and Share

Email To:

A valid EMAIL TO address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.
Email From:

A valid EMAIL FROM address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.


 Top stories

Feb 4, 2003
Residence halls conserve and recycle
Feb 5, 2003
E Street to Late Night: An evening with Max Weinberg
Feb 17, 2003
Kenner Bush receives prestigious Founders Citation
Wilfred Konneker receives prestigious Founders Citation
Mar 5, 2003
The Local Girls to perform at Ohio University Lancaster Campus
Sep 2, 2003
Local artist Ora Anderson featured on WOUB's 'Afternoon Edition'

Sign up for emergency text messages.
Outlook welcomes your feedback, news items and story ideas
Share comments about the site
Submit an announcement
Share a faculty, staff or departmental achievement

Subscribe to the Outlook listserv

Tel: 740-593-1890    Fax: 740-593-1887   E-mail:
All Rights Reserved