Outlook: Ohio University News & Information

Monday, June 1, 2015
ONCA honors student supporters
Lunch celebrates office's 10th anniversary  

Jun 1, 2009  
By Kayla Gaug  

The Office of Nationally Competitive Awards (ONCA) recognized five faculty and staff members on Thursday for their distinguished service to students who have applied for nationally competitive awards and more than 100 students at the annual ONCA Celebration and Appreciation Lunch.

The lunch also served as both a 10-year anniversary for ONCA and a farewell celebration for ONCA Director Ann Brown, who is retiring Friday after 25 years at the university.

President Roderick J. McDavis talked about how much ONCA has grown since it was created in 1999, when 18 applications for awards were submitted. Of those applications, three students received awards.

This year, about 110 students applied for awards and as of today, 46 have been named recipients. Last year, the university had a school-record 75 nationally competitive award recipients.

He also gave special thanks to Brown during his remarks.

"What Ann brought to ONCA is a gift for bringing people together for a common purpose -- the good of our students," McDavis said. "I can't think of a better advocate for our students than Ann Brown. Most importantly, she has celebrated the students and never brought attention to herself or wanted any of the credit. We thank you for your dedication, commitment and service to our most precious resource, our students."

Each year, faculty and staff members serve as advisers, recommenders and mentors to the hundreds of Ohio University students who apply for nationally competitive awards.

Geoff Buckley, David Keck, Sonia Marcus, Jeffrey Rack, and Chris Towe were presented with the ONCA's Distinguished Service Award and the School of Media Arts and Studies was named the most outstanding department or school. Each will receive a $500 honorarium for their ongoing commitment, education and development of countless students.

Buckley, associate professor in the Department of Geography, was a recommender for Emily Bacha, the university's lone recipient of the prestigious Morris K. Udall Scholarship, and Molly Shea, who earned honorable mention status for the same award. He also served on several committees for the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards and has served as a mentor and adviser to many students.

Keck, associate professor in the Department of Mathematics, has advised students and written recommendation letters for a number of award applicants.

Marcus, sustainability coordinator in the Office of Sustainability, has mentored students, written letters of recommendation, and served on boards and committees, including the ONCA Advisory Board.

Rack, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, has written recommendation letters and mentored students in their application process over the years. He also has served on the Goldwater selection and mock interview committees.

Towe, a part-time instructor in the Department of Geography, has been instrumental in students' successes with the NOAA Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship.

The School of Media Arts and Studies was recognized for its hard work with the King Family Foundation Scholarship, a Fulbright Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, the Udall and the UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Fellowship.

Holding back tears, Brown singled out a handful of the hundreds of people who she said have helped her make ONCA successful the past 10 years.

"I have mixed emotions (about retirement) and I'm grateful for the opportunity to do this work." Brown said. "This job was a calling and it has been so satisfying and rewarding, but I think it's time for someone else with new ideas to take over. It was a great ride."

For more information about ONCA or for a list of past Distinguished Service Award and Outstanding Department Award winners, visit www.onca.org.


George Mauzy contributed to this story. 

Related Links
Office of Nationally Competitive Awards: http://www.onca.org 
School of Media Arts and Studies recognized:  http://www.ohio.edu/outlook/08-09/May/563.cfm  
OHIO: Nationally Competitive Award Winners:  http://www.ohio.edu/awards/  

Published: Jun 1, 2009 10:01 AM  

Ann Brown and Roderick McDavis 
Retiring ONCA Director Ann Brown listens as President Roderick J. McDavis expresses his gratitude for her hard work on behalf of OHIO students.

New Web site honors nationally competitive awards winners 

This year, Ohio University has created a new Web site to recognize many of its nationally competitive award winners.

The Web site features short profiles of winners and finalists of prestigious national awards such as the Fulbright, Goldwater, Udall, and NSEP/Boren scholarships, to name a few. The profiles include background information on the scholarship program, personal information about the student and quotes from the students and their mentors.

The Web site is located at www.ohio.edu/awards.

Ohio University's Office of Nationally Competitive Awards hosted its annual Celebration and Appreciation Lunch on Thursday to honor all of the students who applied for a nationally competitive scholarship and their academic mentors. The lunch also marked the 10th anniversary of the office that was created in 1999 with a $25,000 grant from the Ohio University Foundation's 1804 Fund.

The Office of Nationally Competitive Awards was established in 1999 to help Ohio University students better compete for top national and international awards. In 2007-08, a school-record 75 students earned nationally competitive awards.

For a complete list or more information about this year's award-winning scholars, contact the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards at 740-597-1632 or visit www.onca.org.



Photographer: Wes Cronk  

Share this story

Bookmark and Share

Email To:

A valid EMAIL TO address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.
Email From:

A valid EMAIL FROM address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.


 Top stories

Feb 4, 2003
Residence halls conserve and recycle
Feb 5, 2003
E Street to Late Night: An evening with Max Weinberg
Feb 17, 2003
Kenner Bush receives prestigious Founders Citation
Wilfred Konneker receives prestigious Founders Citation
Mar 5, 2003
The Local Girls to perform at Ohio University Lancaster Campus
Sep 2, 2003
Local artist Ora Anderson featured on WOUB's 'Afternoon Edition'

Sign up for emergency text messages.
Outlook welcomes your feedback, news items and story ideas
Share comments about the site
Submit an announcement
Share a faculty, staff or departmental achievement

Subscribe to the Outlook listserv

Tel: 740-593-1890    Fax: 740-593-1887   E-mail:
All Rights Reserved