Outlook: Ohio University News & Information

Monday, June 1, 2015
McDavis accepts third term as IUC Chair

May 21, 2009  
From staff reports   

The Inter-University Council (IUC) of Ohio has elected Ohio University President Roderick J. McDavis as chair for a third consecutive term.

"I am very honored to continue to work in partnership with the presidents of the Inter-University Council and serve as chair. I hope that continuing to serve in this position for a third year will provide the continuity that is needed to help higher education find more ways to solve our state's economic problems," said President McDavis.

Established in 1939, the IUC is a voluntary educational association made up of 14 public universities in Ohio. Together, the IUC mission is to continually improve the quality of higher education across the state.

As IUC chairman this academic year, McDavis was instrumental in leading the IUC through the development and recommendation of a new funding formula for Ohio's public colleges and universities.

This year, McDavis testified before the Ohio House Higher Education Subcommittee and the Ohio Senate Finance Committee on behalf of the IUC. McDavis expressed the members' support of Gov. Ted Strickland's proposed higher education budget, and thanked the governor and general assembly for making higher education a state priority.

"We know how difficult it is to achieve this level of support in very tough budget times," he said. "If this level of investment continues, we all should be optimistic about the future. We are providing opportunities for our students to succeed, and for our faculty researchers to make discoveries that can lead to commercialization ? and that means jobs for Ohioans."

Executive staff members of the chair's institution also chair IUC committees. Executive Vice President and Provost Kathy Krendl chairs the Provosts Committee; Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration Bill Decatur chairs the Business and Finance Officers Committee; Chief Information Officer Brice Bible chairs the Chief Information Officers Committee; Vice President for Student Affairs Kent Smith Jr. chairs the Student Affairs Committee; Human Resources Director Luis Lewin chairs the Human Resources Committee; General Counsel John Biancamano chairs Campus Legal Counsel Committee; Director of Government Relations Teri Geiger chairs the Government Relations Committee, and Chief Procurement Officer Frank Corris chairs the Purchasing Group.

McDavis became Ohio University's 20th president on July 1, 2004. A native of Dayton, Ohio, he received a bachelor's degree in social sciences in secondary education from Ohio University in 1970, making him the first African American and only the second university alumnus to lead the university as president. He received a master's degree in student personnel administration from the University of Dayton in 1971, and a doctorate in counselor education and higher education
administration from the University of Toledo in 1974. His primary interests and publications include restructuring teacher education programs, improving public schools and districts, counseling ethnic minorities, recruiting and retaining minority students and faculty, and evaluating student personnel programs.

In addition to Ohio University, IUC college members include: The Ohio State University, Miami University, Youngstown State University, Kent State University, University of Cincinnati, The University of Akron, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine, Bowling Green State University, Shawnee State University, Cleveland State University, Central State University, The University of Toledo and Wright State University.


Updated May 26, 2009.


Related Links
Inter-University Council of Ohio: http://www.iuc-ohio.org/ 

Published: May 21, 2009 4:20 PM  

Share this story

Bookmark and Share

Email To:

A valid EMAIL TO address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.
Email From:

A valid EMAIL FROM address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.


 Top stories

Feb 4, 2003
Residence halls conserve and recycle
Feb 5, 2003
E Street to Late Night: An evening with Max Weinberg
Feb 17, 2003
Kenner Bush receives prestigious Founders Citation
Wilfred Konneker receives prestigious Founders Citation
Mar 5, 2003
The Local Girls to perform at Ohio University Lancaster Campus
Sep 2, 2003
Local artist Ora Anderson featured on WOUB's 'Afternoon Edition'

Sign up for emergency text messages.
Outlook welcomes your feedback, news items and story ideas
Share comments about the site
Submit an announcement
Share a faculty, staff or departmental achievement

Subscribe to the Outlook listserv

Tel: 740-593-1890    Fax: 740-593-1887   E-mail:
All Rights Reserved