Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Forensics team dominates first tournament of season

Sept. 17, 2007
By Mary Reed
Information submitted by Dan West

The Ohio University Speech and Debate Team began its season this past weekend by dominating the Ninth Annual Boilermaker Special Speech and Debate Tournament at Purdue University. The Bobcats earned 22 qualifications for the National Forensics Association national tournament in April 2008, a record early-season mark.

"Winning seven of the tournament events, the Ohio University Speech and Debate Team is clearly off to an amazing start," said Dan West, John A. Cassese Director of Forensics. "It looks like it is going to be another outstanding year."

Collectively, the team earned 223 points (more than the second-, third- and fourth-place teams combined) to capture the first-place team trophy in the individual events division. Miami University placed second with 94 points, while Illinois State was third with 70 points.

In overall sweepstakes (speech and debate combined), the Bobcats placed second, losing by just seven points to the 2007 national champions, Western Kentucky University. Ohio University students brought home 46 trophies and awards.

Putting the 22 qualifications for nationals into perspective, West said, "Last year, the team earned a total of 21 qualifications by the end of fall quarter and a total of 35 qualifications for the year."

*Denotes an event now qualified for nationals

Speech Sweepstakes

  • Tournament champions: Ohio University

Overall Sweepstakes (speech and debate combined)

  • Second place: Ohio University

Overall Top Speakers (cumulative speaker awards)

  • Second place: Ted Dacey (freshman)
  • Fourth place: Chris Glaser (senior)
  • Fifth place: Dan Glaser (sophomore)
  • Sixth place: Dani Bernat (sophomore)
  • Seventh place: Sarah Hoppes (junior)

Dramatic Duo

  • Tournament champions: Anthony Sylvester (freshman) and Michael Catlos (freshman)*
  • Fourth place: Ted Dacey and Erin Kuester (sophomore)
  • Top novice: Anthony Sylvester and Michael Catlos


  • Tournament champion: Ted Dacey*
  • Fourth place: Sarah Hoppes
  • Fifth place: Chris Glaser
  • Top novice: Ted Dacey

Novice Extemp (current events) Speaking

  • Tournament champion: Ted Dacey*
  • Third place: Jen Scott (freshman)*
  • Fifth place: Spark Tabor (junior)

Informative Speaking

  • Second place: Dan Glaser*
  • Fourth place: Jill Flauto (sophomore)
  • Fifth place: Erin Kuester

Novice Impromptu Speaking

  • Tournament champion: Ted Dacey*

Program Oral Interpretation

  • Fourth place: Dani Bernat

Dramatic Interpretation

  • Tournament champion: Dani Bernat*
  • Fourth place: Anthony Sylvester*
  • Fifth place: Dan Glaser
  • Top novice: Anthony Sylvester

Novice Prose Interpretation

  • Tournament champion: Kristin Nehls (freshman)*
  • Second place: Ted Dacey*
  • Third place: Michael Catlos*

Poetry Interpretation

  • Second place: Dani Bernat*
  • Third place: Sarah Hoppes*
  • Fourth place: Kristin Nehls*
  • Top novice: Kristin Nehls

Rhetorical Criticism

  • Tournament champion: Chris Glaser*
  • Second place: Dan Glaser*
  • Fourth place: Sarah Hoppes*
  • Top novice: Michael Catlos

Extemporaneous Speaking

  • Third place: Chris Glaser*
  • Sixth place: Dan Glaser*

Impromptu Speaking

  • Second place: Chris Glaser*
  • Fifth place: Dan Glaser*

Prose Interpretation

  • Second place: Anthony Sylvester*

Related Links:

Published: Jul 20, 2006 3:50:00 PM
Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved