Outlook: Ohio University News & Information

Monday, June 1, 2015
Scholars programs name 2008-09 students
37 tapped as Appalachian, Cutler, Templeton, Urban scholars  

Jun 6, 2008  
From staff reports   

Ohio University has announced its incoming classes for the Appalachian, Cutler, Templeton and Urban scholarship programs. The students begin classes in the fall.

The four scholarship programs are designed to draw well-rounded, high-achieving students who have demonstrated the ability to perform well academically and contribute in meaningful ways to their communities. The awards are the highest-value scholarships the university offers.

Appalachian Scholars

The Appalachian Scholars Program is a need-based scholarship initiative that provides support to students from Ohio's 29 Appalachian counties. Students earn the scholarship based on enthusiasm, motivation, academic achievement and financial need. The 10 recipients in the scholarship's second class were chosen from 117 applicants, including 91 for the six Athens campus slots. The Eastern, Chillicothe, Southern and Zanesville campuses each name one Appalachian Scholar per year. The Lancaster campus is not located in an Appalachia county and does not participate. 

Each student receives a four-year, renewable scholarship and an annual book stipend. Students also receive funding to attend an approved professional conference during their junior year, internship opportunities, and technology and research training.

The newest Appalachian Scholars are Eric Alexander of Malta, Ohio; Christopher Capper of Willow Wood, Ohio; Shea Daniels of Chillicothe, Ohio; Katherine Dufore of Ironton, Ohio; Megan Gray of Chillicothe, Ohio; Daniel Kelly of South Point, Ohio; Trace Lydick of Belpre, Ohio; Stephen Nuehart of Batesville, Ohio; Jessica Price of Belpre, Ohio; and Brittany Wolverton of Cambridge, Ohio.

Manasseh Cutler Scholars

The Ohio University Manasseh Cutler Scholars Program, supported by private donors, offers four-year undergraduate scholarships on the Athens campus. Each scholarship provides an annual stipend to cover tuition, room and board, and four summers of enrichment experiences, including study and work abroad. In addition to their integrity, leadership, academic achievement, extracurricular involvement and physical vigor, recipients are nominated and chosen based on their selected major, high school affiliation, geographic location or parents' organization or corporate affiliation.

The seven newest Cutler Scholars are Rachel Ackerman of Willoughby, Ohio; Andrew "Chase" Allman of Oak Hill, Ohio; Alex Anderson of Greenfield, Ohio; Andrew Bissell of Longbottom, Ohio; Courtney Ginther of Portland, Ohio; Samuel Miller of Logan, Ohio; and Grace Nelson of Athens, Ohio.

Templeton Scholars

The Templeton Scholars Program, named for Ohio University's first African-American graduate, John Newton Templeton, attracts high-achieving students from disproportionately represented groups. The four-year renewable scholarship covers the cost of tuition, room, board and books for the academic year. Selections are made on the basis of applicants' academic and personal achievements. This year's 10 recipients were chosen from 26 finalists.

The new Templeton Scholars are Christopher Born of Strongsville, Ohio; Nate Boyer of Dresden, Ohio; Stephanie Del Rosal of Hoover, Ala.; Christine Nwajei of Canton, Ohio; Ugonna Okpalaoka of Pickerington, Ohio; Brittany Oliver of Albany, Ohio; Jermain Onye of Cincinnati; Eric "Max" Rodriguez of Pittsburgh; Eudora Peterson of Millburn, N.J.; and Eric White of Georgetown, Pa.

Urban Scholars

The Urban Scholars Program is designed to increase the university's diversity by enhancing opportunities for Ohio's urban high school students to enroll and succeed at Ohio University. The program provides scholarship support for students who demonstrate enthusiasm, motivation, academic achievement and financial need. The scholarship provides a bridge between federal and state financial support and the total cost of attendance. This year's 10 recipients were chosen from 30 finalists.

The 10 new Urban Scholars are Chrysten Crockett of Garfield Heights, Ohio, Brian Davis of Cleveland; Naomie Jeantine of Columbus; Donald Lindsay of Columbus; Victoria Little of Cleveland; Roger Oatman of Euclid, Ohio; Habibat Saheeb of Westerville, Ohio; Renina Smith of Cincinnati; Ashleeann Washington of Dayton, Ohio; and Shirley Wilson of Cleveland.

Coming in the fall: Outlook will take a more in-depth look at these programs and scholars at the start of fall quarter.



Related Links
Office for Diversity:  http://www.ohio.edu/diversity/ 

Published: Jun 6, 2008 11:55 AM  

Share this story

Bookmark and Share

Email To:

A valid EMAIL TO address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.
Email From:

A valid EMAIL FROM address is required. You have entered an invalid email format.


 Top stories

Feb 4, 2003
Residence halls conserve and recycle
Feb 5, 2003
E Street to Late Night: An evening with Max Weinberg
Feb 17, 2003
Kenner Bush receives prestigious Founders Citation
Wilfred Konneker receives prestigious Founders Citation
Mar 5, 2003
The Local Girls to perform at Ohio University Lancaster Campus
Sep 2, 2003
Local artist Ora Anderson featured on WOUB's 'Afternoon Edition'

Sign up for emergency text messages.
Outlook welcomes your feedback, news items and story ideas
Share comments about the site
Submit an announcement
Share a faculty, staff or departmental achievement

Subscribe to the Outlook listserv

Tel: 740-593-1890    Fax: 740-593-1887   E-mail:
All Rights Reserved