Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Trustees grant emeriti status to 36 faculty

ATHENS, Ohio (May 1, 2007) -- The Ohio University Board of Trustees last week awarded 36 faculty members emeriti status based on the recommendation of those individuals? supervisors and colleagues. The status is effective upon retirement.

Here is a full list of new emeriti faculty members:

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Margret Appel, Professor Emerita of Psychology
  • Nancy Bain, Professor Emerita of Geography
  • Douglas Baxter, Associate Professor Emeritus of History
  • Susan Crowl, Professor Emerita of English
  • Phyllis Field, Associate Professor Emerita of History
  • Ismail Ghazalah, Professor Emeritus of Economics
  • Steven M. Grimes, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Physics
    and Astronomy

  • Michael Grow, Associate Professor Emeritus of History
  • David Klingaman, Professor Emeritus of Economics
  • Gene Kathleen Mapes, Associate Professor Emerita of Environmental and Plant Biology
  • John McNamara, Professor Emeritus of Psychology
  • Dean McWilliams,  Professor Emeritus of English (Posthumous)
  • Ruth Nybakken, Associate Professor Emerita of Modern Languages
  • M.S.K. Sastry, Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
  • Ivan K. Smith, Professor Emeritus of Environmental and Plant Biology
  • Marmo Soemarmo, Associate Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
  • Gerald E. Svendsen, Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences

College of Business

  • Manjulika Koshal, Professor Emerita of Management Systems

College of Education

  • Glenn A. Doston,Professor Emeritus of Counseling and Higher Education
  • Joan P. Safran, Professor Emerita of Teacher Education
  • Stephen P. Safran, Professor Emeritus of Teacher Education
  • James Yanok, Associate Professor Emeritus of Teacher Education

College of Fine Arts

  • Mary Manusos, Professor Emerita of Art

College of Health and Human Services

  • Emily A. Harman, Assistant Professor Emerita of Nursing
  • Margaret A. King, Professor Emerita of Human and Consumer Sciences

College of Osteopathic Medicine

  • Robert Hikida, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Sciences
  • Daniel J. Marazon, Associate Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine

Russ College of Engineering and Technology

  • Brian Manhire, Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Margaret C. Thomas, Lecturer Emerita of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Scripps College of Communication

  • Drusilla Riley Evarts, Professor Emerita of Journalism
  • Thomas Hodges, Associate Professor Emeritus of Journalism

Regional Campuses

  • John Faulkner, Associate Professor Emeritus of English, Lancaster Campus
  • Michael J. Kline, Associate Professor Emeritus of History, Zanesville Campus
  • Steve Nerney, Associate Professor Emeritus of Physics, Lancaster Campus
  • William Stevens, Associate Professor Emeritus of Electronics Technology, Lancaster Campus
  • Gerald L. Westgerdes, Professor Emeritus of Fine Arts, Zanesville Campus

Related links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved