Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News

Ohio University President Roderick McDavis, Russ Prize winner Yuan-Cheng 'Bert' Fung and National Academy of Engineering President Bill Wulf.

ATHENS, Ohio (March 7, 2007) -- Given biennially by Ohio University and the National Academy of Engineering, the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize is one of the top three engineering prizes in the world and the only one of its caliber endowed at a university. The winners of this $500,000 award are Nobel prize caliber scientists. (There is no engineering category for the Nobel.) The late Fritz Russ, a 1942 electrical engineering graduate of Ohio University, and his wife, Dolores, created the prize.

"The recipients of the Russ Prize are among the greatest living engineers and scientists in the world," Russ College Dean Dennis Irwin says.

Here, 2007 Russ Prize winner, Yuan-Cheng "Bert" Fung (middle), celebrates the award at a February gala with President Roderick McDavis (left) and National Academy of Engineering President Bill Wulf. Regarded as the father of modern biomechanics, Fung's work in human tissue engineering has contributed to the development of the entire field of automotive safety design, as well as artificial skin, personal body armor for military and emergency personnel, prosthetic devices and other breakthroughs that save and improve millions of lives.

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved