Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
New members begin terms

Local individuals join Ohio University Eastern Campus Regional Coordinating Council  

ST. CLAIRSVILLE, Ohio (March 9, 2007) -- Six local individuals, approved by the Ohio University Board of Trustees to become the newest members of Ohio University Eastern Campus' Regional Coordinating Council, began their terms March 1.  Deborah Hanson of St. Clairsville, Tracey Lancione-Lloyd of St. Clairsville, John Mattox of Flushing, Gerald Narcisi of Shadyside, Keith Sommer of Martins Ferry, and Michael Staggs of Woodsfield join current members George Carroll of St. Clairsville, Richard Doan of Barnesville, and Terry Lee of St. Clairsville.  The new members' terms will end June 30, 2010. 

Student representative, Zach Thuring, will serve as a non-voting member on the council. His appointment is for a two year term. 

In a meeting Tuesday night, the council voted for officers.  Carroll was elected chair.  Lee was voted vice-chair.  Doan was voted in as secretary.  They will hold their positions for one year. At that time, they will be eligible for re-election to the office for a period of up to three years. 

The new council members replace seven retiring members who have over 135 years combined service.  Judge Harry White of St. Clairsville, Dr. Dama Burkhart of Woodsfield, James Everson of St. Clairsville, Matilda Heavilin of Cadiz, Richard Lancione of Bellaire, Errol Sambuco of Martins Ferry, and Katherine Whinnery of Adena are retiring from the coordinating council.  Whinnery is the longest serving member.  She began her duties in the late 1960s.

Each of Ohio University's regional campuses now has a nine-member Regional Coordinating Council.  These advisory groups make recommendations to the university regarding topics such as academic programming, land use and capital projects.

New by-laws dictate that committee members may now serve a maximum of three terms, each term consisting of three years.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Director of Marketing & Public Relations Crystal Lorimor at (740) 699-2356 or lorimor@ohio.edu

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved