Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Ohio University announces newest scholars

June 7, 2007
Compiled by George Mauzy 

Ohio University recently announced its incoming classes of Appalachian, Cutler and Templeton scholars. The students, along with soon-to-be-named Urban Scholars, will begin classes in the fall.

The four scholarship programs draw well-rounded, high-achieving students who have demonstrated the ability to perform well inside and outside the classroom. They are the highest-value scholarships offered by the university.

The Appalachian Scholars program is a need-based scholarship initiative that provides support to students from the 29 Appalachian Ohio counties. Students earn the scholarship based on enthusiasm, motivation, academic achievement and financial need. The 10 recipients in the scholarship's second class were chosen from a pool of more than 150 applicants.

Each student receives a four-year, renewable scholarship, an annual book stipend and the opportunity to participate in an annual leadership seminar. They also receive funding to attend an approved professional conference during their junior year, internship opportunities, and technology and research training.

The 10 newest Appalachian Scholars are Kariss Forte of Athens; Shawn Ogaz of Middleport, Ohio; Amanda "Mandy" Schmitz of Peebles, Ohio; Jeanna Unrue of Uhrichsville, Ohio; Ryan Walsh of Jackson, Ohio; Tara "Elizabeth" Wolfe of Stout, Ohio; Sarah Pennington of Ironton, Ohio; Ashli Anderson of Barnesville, Ohio; Rebecca Waddell of Latham, Ohio; and Anna Marie Scott of Chandlersville, Ohio.

The Ohio University Manasseh Cutler Scholars Program, supported by private donors, is a four-year undergraduate scholarship that provides an annual stipend to cover tuition, room and board, and four summers of enrichment experiences, including study and work abroad. Next fall, there will be 34 Manasseh Cutler Scholars on campus. Each of the recipients was nominated and chosen for their specific scholarship according to major, affiliation or geographic area. 

The six newest Cutler Scholars and their scholarship titles are Lacey Adkins of Oak Hill, Ohio, the Leona and Lewis Hughes-Manasseh Cutler Scholars Award; Lindsay Cheek of Olean, N.Y., the Ann Lee Hancock Konneker-Manasseh Cutler Scholars Award; Brittni Downs of Junction City, Ohio, the first College of Business Executive Advisory Board-Manasseh Cutler Scholar; Nathaniel "Alex" McGrath of Coolville, Ohio, the Dr. James H. and Nellie Rowley Jewell-Manasseh Cutler Scholars Award; and Spencer McNeil, of Greenfield, Ohio, the Wilfred R. Konneker-Manasseh Cutler Scholars Award, and Jamie Smith of Lakewood, Ohio, the Lizabeth and Charles R. Emrick Jr.-Manasseh Cutler Scholars Award.

The Templeton Scholars program, which is named for Ohio University's first African-American graduate, John Newton Templeton, was created to mirror the Cutler Scholars program while attracting high-achieving students from underrepresented groups. The scholarship covers the cost of tuition, room, board and books for the academic year. The scholarships are renewable provided that the recipient completes 16 credit hours each quarter and maintains a 3.3 grade point average. This year's recipients were chosen from 49 finalists for the scholarship.

The 10 new Templeton Scholars are Jalyssa Eliasen of West Chester, Ohio; Jalisa Elkins of Newton Falls, Ohio; Ashley Haynes of Hudson, Ohio; Allen Henry of Piqua, Ohio; Ebony Hodges of Copley, Ohio; Amanda Muschlitz of Gahanna, Ohio; Joseph Reinhart of Findlay, Ohio; Mary Smith of Cincinnati; Crystalyn Thomas-Davis of Cincinnati; and Carina Turner of Columbus.

Ohio University will announce its newest class of 10 Urban Scholars in the coming weeks.

Coming in the fall: Watch for a more in-depth look at these programs and scholars at the start of fall quarter.   

Related Links:
Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved