Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Tuesday, November 22, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Ohio journalism professors garner AEJMC's top research honors
Announcement marks first time top winners both affiliated with same university

ATHENS, Ohio (Feb. 21, 2007) --  For the first time, the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) has bestowed its top research honors on two professors from a single university: Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Scripps Survey Research Center Director Guido H. Stempel III and Professor Patrick Washburn, both of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University.

Guido StempelStempel is the 2007 recipient of the Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research, while Washburn has been selected to receive the Eleanor Blum Award for Distinguished Service to Research. In addition, Stempel is the only professional to win both of these awards, having won the Blum Award in 1989. 

"The awards will stand out in 2007 because the recipients made AEJMC history," said Paula Poindexter, chair of the AEJMC Standing Committee on Research.

The Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research recognizes a body of significant research over the course of an individual's career. The award is named in honor of Paul J. Deutschmann, who developed the College of Communication Arts at Michigan State University.

According to Stempel's award letter written by David T.Z. Mindich, a member of the AEJMC Standing Committee on Research, one of Stempel's colleagues and nominators called him a "national master of content analysis," while another cited him "the genius and the gentleman we wish we could become."

Stempel joined the Ohio University faculty in 1965 and served as director of the School of Journalism for eight years. He was named distinguished professor in 1982. He was editor of Journalism Quarterly for 17 years. Since 2002, he has served as director of the Scripps Survey Research Center.

Patrick Washburn photo by Rick FaticaAccording to Washburn's award letter, the Eleanor Blum Award for Distinguished Service to Research "recognizes AEJMC members who have devoted substantial parts of their careers to promoting research in mass communications." This award is not given annually and 2007 marks only the 11th time it has been given since 1980.

Washburn's nominees represented 18 different institutions throughout the country. As one nominator noted "A senior scholar can influence and encourage others far beyond his own university." A second concurred, "It is hard to turn the proverbial scholarly corner these days without running into someone, somewhere who has been driven to the pinnacle of excellence advocated by Pat Washburn."

Washburn joined the faculty in 1984. He has chaired 22 doctoral dissertations and 56 master's theses.

Both Stempel and Washburn will be presented with their awards at the annual AEJMC convention to be conducted in Washington in August.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Senior Director of Media Relations Sally Linder at 740-597-1793 or linders@ohio.edu or Senior Director of Marketing Communications Gina Calcamuggio at 740-593-9457 or calcamug@ohio.edu 

Note to Media: Photos of Guido Stempel III and Patrick Washburn are available for download at:

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved