Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Thursday, December 7, 2006
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
Information session on Appalachian Scholars to be held Dec. 12 in Athens

ATHENS, Ohio (Dec. 7, 2006) -- Ohio University is hosting an information session for high school students and parents on the Ohio University Appalachian Scholars Award Program at 7 p.m., Tuesday, Dec. 12, in the new Baker University Center Ballroom.

The session will outline program requirements and answer questions about the scholarship program, in its second year, which actively seeks students from the Appalachian Ohio region.

"We are searching for students who want to and are capable of achieving great things but have financial hurdles in their way," said Taylor. "Last year's Appalachian Scholars performed well in and out of the classroom, so we are looking forward to assembling a second class that will add to the existing momentum."

Scheduled speakers include Ohio University President Roderick J. McDavis; G. Christine Taylor, assistant to the president for diversity; Richard Greenlee, associate provost for Appalachian access and enrichment programs; and representatives of the university's financial aid and undergraduate admissions offices. Representation from the Appalachian Scholars inaugural class will also attend.

The need-based scholarship is a four-year renewable award valued at $10,000 each year, which includes an annual book stipend and participation in an annual leadership seminar. The scholarships are reserved for students interested in pursuing a four-year degree.

To apply for the Appalachian Scholars Award Program, students must:

  • Reside in one of the 29 Appalachian counties in Ohio
  • Demonstrate financial need by filling out a FAFSA form
  • Have a FAFSA expected family contribution number no more than $8,000
  • Be admitted to Ohio University before Feb. 23
  • Have an ACT score of 17 or more
  • Rank in the top 40 percent of their graduating class
  • Be enrolled in college preparatory courses at their high school
  • Return their Appalachian Scholars Award Program packet and transcripts to Ohio University by Feb. 23

Students also are strongly encouraged to complete the FAFSA application by the Feb. 15 priority date.

The 29 Appalachian counties in Ohio are Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Carroll, Clermont, Columbiana, Coshocton, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Tuscarawas, Vinton and Washington.

Each year, six Appalachian Scholars will be selected to attend the Athens campus; the Chillicothe, Eastern, Southern and Zanesville regional campuses will each choose one new Appalachian Scholar. The second class of Appalachian Scholars will be announced in May.

For more information on the Appalachian Scholars Program, visit www.ohio.edu/diversity/appalachianscholars/forms.cfm.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Media Specialist George Mauzy at 740-597-1794 or mauzy@ohio.edu

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved