Outlook: Ohio University News and Information
Monday, November 7, 2005
Search Outlook
Email this Story
Email To:

Email From:

Today's News and Events
Other Campus News
For the Media
View all News
School of Theater wins design awards

ATHENS, Ohio (Nov. 7, 2005) -- Faculty and students of Ohio University's School of Theater swept the statewide design awards at the recent USITT-Ohio Exhibition, receiving four of the six Ezekiel Awards of Outstanding Achievement Awards and four of the nine Ezekiel Awards of Distinction.

Competing against more than 20 colleges and universities, Daniel Denhart, faculty technical direction; Rebecca Ferguson, graduate lighting design; Ryan Trupp, graduate lighting design; and Natalie Taylor, graduate scene design, received the 2005 Ezekiel Outstanding Achievement Award. Ursula Belden, professional scene design; Myron Elliot, graduate costume design; Dean Adams, graduate technical direction; and Karla Hemmelgran, undergraduate lighting design, received the 2005 Award of Distinction.

The USITT, the association of design, production, and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry, established these awards to recognize outstanding achievement in theatrical design based on two levels.

Ohio University has the largest professional training program for production design in Ohio, which means that students usually do very well in the state-wide competition, said Ursula Belden, an award winner and head of production design.

"We are certainly not the only school encouraging talented outputs, but if you considered our show budgets next to the budgets of some of the schools we compete with on this level, the results are down right outstanding," said Dennis Cornell, a professor in the School of Theater who attended the exhibition.

In addition to the competition, the exhibition held workshops and seminars on a variety of topics including programmable moving scenery, moving lights and video and airbrush make-up techniques.

The state level awards are the first step to compete in the national and international competitions. All award winners will compete in the national competition this spring in Louisville, Ky.

[ 30 ]

Media Contact: Media Specialist George Mauzy, (740) 597-1794 or mauzy@ohio.edu

Related Links:

Please send comments to news@ohio.edu
Tel: (740) 593-2200
Fax: (740) 593-1887
Submit ideas for a story or news item
All Rights Reserved